2024 Houston Open WITB Photos ×

I can’t gain distance

eagles88

I have been playing for about five years. Just a weekend warrior and sometimes during the week. I have been fitted for clubs and love my clubs. I hit the ball very straight. Problem is I can’t hit it far at all. I swing at a senior speed and I’m in my thirties. I hit my driver about 190. I have been to numerous instructors in my area. Have sent different coaches swing videos all over the country and have had them analyze. Problem is I just can’t seem to get it down. Sometimes I just want to sell my clubs. But I won’t because I love the game so much. Any pointers anyone? 

Just now, tthomasgolfer605 said:

I'd say since you paid a lot of money for lessons and club fittings and they didn't help, you just need to accept the fact that some are born with raw clubhead speed and some aren't. Are you playing the proper tees for your distance? 

I think you may be right. Unfortunate but it may be time accept it. I used to think it was because I’m overweight but I see a lot of overweight players smash the ball. Yes I’m playing the proper tees. I play at about a 23 handicap. 

37 minutes ago, eagles88 said:

I have been playing for about five years. Just a weekend warrior and sometimes during the week. I have been fitted for clubs and love my clubs. I hit the ball very straight. Problem is I can’t hit it far at all. I swing at a senior speed and I’m in my thirties. I hit my driver about 190. I have been to numerous instructors in my area. Have sent different coaches swing videos all over the country and have had them analyze. Problem is I just can’t seem to get it down. Sometimes I just want to sell my clubs. But I won’t because I love the game so much. Any pointers anyone? 

Tho it's true that some people are more athletic and built for speed, everyone can train to expand his/her limit, to become faster and stronger, given that he/she has no disabilities that might hinder the efforts.