Jump to content

Recommended Posts

PA = penalty area.  So my ball was next to, within 2", of the upward protruding 4" cement wall which marked the PA.  The ball was in the general area, but i could not stand in the GA and take a shot to the green.  I could stand on the wall, entirely in the PA, but with some danger as the drop off into the water below was 8 feet.  I could hit the ball by standing in the GA, but shoot the ball away from the green; this only by a left handed shot.

Do i get free relief from the PA wall, an Immovable Obstruction.?

 

And secondly, if the ball had been laying in the GA but also touching the PA wall, would i get relief in that case?  

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

It is a rock solidly correct ruling. You can argue the words in/on  but it will be to an empty room.  The key word is touches.     See Rule 17.1a: When Ball Is in Penalty Area A

It also depends on where the ball lies.  If the ball is not in the PA, and the wall has not been defined as integral, and the player is not using an abnormal stance or stroke, and nothing else prevent

47 minutes ago, jobin said:

PA = penalty area.  So my ball was next to, within 2", of the upward protruding 4" cement wall which marked the PA.  The ball was in the general area, but i could not stand in the GA and take a shot to the green.  I could stand on the wall, entirely in the PA, but with some danger as the drop off into the water below was 8 feet.  I could hit the ball by standing in the GA, but shoot the ball away from the green; this only by a left handed shot.

Do i get free relief from the PA wall, an Immovable Obstruction.?

 

And secondly, if the ball had been laying in the GA but also touching the PA wall, would i get relief in that case?  

 

I think it depends on the status of the wall and/or where it is (in or out of the PA).

 

Were there any red stakes or red lines defining the PA ?

 

You call it a "PA Wall". Does the course/committee define the wall as the PA boundary ?

Want more posters to read and reply ? "[EMBRACE] THE LINE BREAK"

 

Callaway Epic Flash SZ Triple Diamond 9.0 Tour AD TP-6 Stiff

Ping G400 hybrid, 19*, 70 gr Stock Stiff

Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300

Ping Glide Forged, 48, 52, 60, DGS300

Vokey SM8 56/08 (Thanks WRX !!!)

Seemore MT7 Face Balanced (Today)

Chrome Soft Truvis Yellow/Black

Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, jobin said:

PA = penalty area.  So my ball was next to, within 2", of the upward protruding 4" cement wall which marked the PA.  The ball was in the general area, but i could not stand in the GA and take a shot to the green.  I could stand on the wall, entirely in the PA, but with some danger as the drop off into the water below was 8 feet.  I could hit the ball by standing in the GA, but shoot the ball away from the green; this only by a left handed shot.

Do i get free relief from the PA wall, an Immovable Obstruction.?

 

And secondly, if the ball had been laying in the GA but also touching the PA wall, would i get relief in that case?  

 

1. If your ball is not in the PA, you may take relief from interference by an immovable obstruction which is in the PA.  

2. If your ball is in the PA you do not get relief from an immovable obstruction whether in or outside the PA.

3.  If your ball is touching a stake, line  or in this case wall defining the margin of the PA, it is in the PA not the General Area.

 

There are circumstances whereby you can be denied relief as mentioned above, but these three basic points give the answer yes to your first question and no to your second.

 

 

Edited by Colin L
Link to post
Share on other sites

That # 3 item concerns me.  For example, if a ball  rests obviously on the green, but is touching a leaf that grows from the margin (off the green) but that leaf extends on towards the green and is touching the ball, then you will tell me the ball is 'off the green'? 

I see that in my case, the ball obviously is resting in the GA but is touching a PA boundary indentifier obstruction, therefore my ball is in the PA?  IMO, not a good ruling.

I guess we can argue the word "in/on".

Link to post
Share on other sites

If the ball is touching anything defined as PA then there is no relief, it is that simple. Getting into putting green issues is unrelated and unhelpful discussion. If the ball is not touching the wall and not in the PA, then relief is available unless something other than the wall prevents a stroke being made.

Link to post
Share on other sites
51 minutes ago, antip said:

If the ball is touching anything defined as PA then there is no relief, it is that simple. Getting into putting green issues is unrelated and unhelpful discussion. If the ball is not touching the wall and not in the PA, then relief is available unless something other than the wall prevents a stroke being made.

All of this.

 

PA on a putting green? Please. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I used to belong to a Pete Dye designed course that, typically, used a lot of railroad ties. The course was good about marking PAs and the railroad ties were within the margins of the PA. Due to "too much confusion" as to when relief was or was not permitted, they made all railroad ties integral to the course eliminating relief under any circumstances. For any fairly serious golfer there was no "confusion", ball in the PA no relief, ball outside the PA relief permitted.

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, jobin said:

That # 3 item concerns me.  For example, if a ball  rests obviously on the green, but is touching a leaf that grows from the margin (off the green) but that leaf extends on towards the green and is touching the ball, then you will tell me the ball is 'off the green'? I see that in my case, the ball obviously is resting in the GA but is touching a PA boundary indentifier obstruction, therefore my ball is in the PA?  IMO, not a good ruling.

I guess we can argue the word "in/on".

It is a rock solidly correct ruling. You can argue the words in/on  but it will be to an empty room.  The key word is touches

 

 See Rule 17.1a:

When Ball Is in Penalty Area

A ball is in a penalty area when any part of the ball:

  • Lies on or touches the ground or anything else (such as any natural or artificial object) inside the edge of the penalty area, or
  • Is above the edge or any other part of the penalty area.
Edited by Colin L
  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, jobin said:

That # 3 item concerns me.  For example, if a ball  rests obviously on the green, but is touching a leaf that grows from the margin (off the green) but that leaf extends on towards the green and is touching the ball, then you will tell me the ball is 'off the green'? 

 

 

I wonder where you got that idea from. Not from Colin's post, that's for sure.

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 hours ago, jobin said:

I guess we can argue the word "in/on".

The Rules are pretty specific in defining the various areas of the course, exactly where the limits of each one are, and how to decide where the ball lies.  There's really no room to argue.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • Ping i59 irons - 2021 Wells Fargo Championship
      Ping i59 irons - 2021 Wells Fargo Championship
        • Thanks
        • Like
      • 138 replies
    • 2021 Wells Fargo - Discussion & Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       

       
      2021 Wells Fargo - Tuesday #1
      2021 Wells Fargo - Tuesday #2
      2021 Wells Fargo - Tuesday #3
      2021 Wells Fargo - Tuesday #4
      2021 Wells Fargo - Tuesday #5
       
      2021 Wells Fargo - Wednesday #1
      2021 Wells Fargo - Wednesday #2
       
       

       
       
       

       
      Bettinardi putters & covers - 2021 Wells Fargo
      Ping i59 irons - 2021 Wells Fargo Championship
      New Ping Glide Forged Pro wedge - 2021 Wells Fargo
      Behind the scenes on the PXG truck - 2021 Wells Fargo
      PXG Gen 4 0311 T & 0311 ST irons - 2021 Wells Fargo
      Jason Day testing a SIK putter with LA Golf shaft - 2021 Wells Fargo
      Scotty Cameron T2 putter - 2021 Wells Fargo
      KH Lee's Odyssey putter - - 2021 Wells Fargo
      Patrick Cantlay's Cameron T-5 - 2021 Wells Fargo
      Rory has the TM "Rors" protos in the bag - 2021 Wells Fargo
       
       
        • Like
      • 17 replies
    • 2021 Valspar Championship - discussion and links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #1
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #2
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #3
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #4
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #4
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #6
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #7
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #8
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #9
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #10
      2021 Valspar Championship - Tuesday #11
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

       
      Bettinardi putters - 2021 Valspar Championship
      Axis 1 Proto - 2021 Valspar Championship
      Jimmy Walker "testing" a LA Golf proto putter - 2021 Valspar Championship
      Scotty Cameron putter - 2021 Valspar Championship
       
      • 17 replies
    • Post in Ping 2021 Irons
      Victor has i59 in the bag this week!
        • Thanks
        • Like
    • 2021 RBC Heritage - discussions and links
      Please post any questions and comments here.
       
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #1
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #2
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #3
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #4
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #5
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #6
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #7
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #8
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #9
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #10
       

       
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #1
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #2
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #3
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #4
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #5
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #6
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #7
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #8
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #9
      2021 RBC Heritage - Tuesday #10
       
       

       
      Custom Cameron putters - 2021 RBC Heritage
      Bettinardi putter - 2021 RBC Heritage
      Robert Streb's custom stamped Vokey wedge - 2021 RBC Heritage
      Ben An's custom stamped Vokey - 2021 RBC Heritage
      • 17 replies

×
×
  • Create New...