Graphite shaft cut off saw blade

I've been a club building hobbyist for 25 years.  I'm switching from steel shafts to MMT 125 graphite shafts in my irons this season.  I've never shafted irons with graphite so when cutting new shafts I have just used my small cut off saw with a blade that works on steel shafts.  If I reshaft anything with graphite its usually just a couple clubs in which I just use a small hand saw with a blade meant to cut graphite.  

My question is are there any club makers out there that know of a cutt off saw blade I can use on graphite shafts so I'm not having to do the entire set by hand??

Thanks,

Headcase

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Just a regular abrasive blade works fine with a chop saw.  Putting a wrap of tape around where you are cutting prevents splintering.

Tungsten carbide rod hacksaw blade, rotate the shaft so you only cut from the outside of the shaft towards the middle. Perfect cuts every time, very quick.  Just make sure to account for the width of

I've always used a table saw or miter saw with a good sharp blade, with a few layers of masking tape around the shaft at the cut line. Probably cut 50 shafts this way over the years.

Posted Images

I just built a set of MMT's and used this wheel from Lowes.  Fit my harbor freight chop-saw and worked great.  The blade was fairly thin and the shafts didn't splinter at all.  I've used it for those plus all my other graphite shafts and it's worked great.  I'm just an amateur club builder though.  

image.png.55256126c641716f95f1e95b5651865b.png

• Thanks 1

TM Sim 8 Ventus Black 6x
Taylormade Sim 15 Accra TZ6
Titeist 818h2 19 Ventus Blue
Srixon Z7 Mitsubishi MMT 105 TX
Vokey SM8 50/54/60
TM Spider X

I've always used a table saw or miter saw with a good sharp blade, with a few layers of masking tape around the shaft at the cut line. Probably cut 50 shafts this way over the years.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1