Info on starting my own golf shop

Morning all!

Looking for some advice on a career change. I currently work in finance and dread every work day. Been dreaming lately of opening my own golf shop (pro-shop services, club repair, fitting bay/simulator perhaps in the future?). At the moment, I am no more than a golf addict with some amateur club-building experience under my belt from tinkering with my own gear, and fitting knowledge gained from everything I've read and watched online. So by no means a pro/expert.

From following this forum, it seems like some of you have your own shops. Wondering what kind of advice you would give to someone who is looking into starting out. Tips on equipment and tools? What kind of certification/training would I need? What to focus on in the beginning? Anything helps. Just trying to gather info at this stage to see if this makes any sense. 

Cheers!

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Better sit down for this one... Do you have the resources to do this? If not no big deal but you will need to find them.  Are you a pretty creative person? Business isnt a one size fit

Pat   My advice is do not do it. That said, approximate cost to open a fully equipped shop will be about $80K. It will take years to get your investment back. Some real numbers but not inclu

Great hobby, but I’ve regripped enough clubs to know I don’t want to do it all day. you would have to develop a companion revenue source to club repair upscale driving range with indoor bays

I was going to do this about 15 years ago but never did.  One thing that I have picked up from talking to those who have done it is that it helps tremendously to be in a more upscale, golf crazy area.   Doing it in an ordinary town is a lot harder.

M4 Driver D-type
sometimes 5W, sometimes 3 hybrid

4,5,6 hybrids (22,25,28 degrees)  Adams
4, 6-GW basic GI irons, weak lofts and +1/2" for more speed and launch
58º Wedge