Where do I Begin?

I have been struggling with an unplayable slice with the driver,  even when I let up on my power its still all over.  

I have filmed myself for the first time and saw how ugly my swing is.  I'm new to golf and am looking to get lessons when this season starts but I would like a starting point to work on till i see an instructor.  I have been comparing to some pro swings to get an idea but I don't want to get too far down the wrong road.  Here are my thoughts and I look forward to yours.  Thanks golfwrx

- The simulator I've been practicing on shows I often have an open clubface and swing Outside-In,  My current swing thoughts are to get my arms back and up on the back swing and to initiate my downswing with my hips/torso.  Aside from that im not sure where to even begin.

Driver swing ex.mov

Edited by FreeWilly613
embed

With a slice you should always begin with the face. Start by flattening your right wrist/ bending your left backward as much as you can through impact.  You need to feel like the back of your right hand is looking up to the sky at the top of your swing.  This will shorten your swing, don’t worry you’ll hit it much further.

• Like 1

Interesting thought laneholt, I'll try for the "inside quadrant"  I'm not concerned about hooking, it's already unplayable I would prefer knowing I'm atleast working in the right direction.  

Highpro can I assume your referring to my hands as a lefty?.  I've never paid much attention to my hands after I grip the club.  I'll try this out thanks 

Something really helped me was to practice very slo motion swings with no ball.

Discovered that with my swing and body type, once I bring the club face back to the start point, club face was open. 

Started to experiment with club face position at address, not changing anything about my set up. Just starting with club face more closed...turns out...what I see as open or closed at address is complete shite.