2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

What kicked your Spider out of the bag?

Rantonio

I've been gaming a Spider Tour Black short slant for a few years now.  It was my first mallet and I don't think I'll go back to a blade.  I love the putter, but always have the itch for something new.  I just had my Phantom X 5.5 delivered and I don't think it's making the cut.  I had high hopes for it.  For those of you that have gamed a Spider Tour, I'm wondering what putters have beat it out?

Evnroll ER2. I had the Spider Platinum and the plumbers neck version and The ER2 feels a lot more stable. I wanted a heavier putter and went with the 370 gram head with the gravity grip. Feels like a winning combo for me. I to thought a Scotty was my next putter, as I always wanted one, but the special select in LH only comes in the newport 2 and that was too much toe hang for me as my stroke is SBST

• Like 1

Well, nothing beat it long term. But I recently got a pxg operator and it is likely to be my bride. Spider tour with a milled face...

Spider tour came out of the bag around September to an anser milled. Made more long putts with the anser because I had better speed (more speed near the hole). But I was so shaky over 7 footers or less. So I went exploring. Ordered the operator after trying the blackjack since November. 

Operator has that same spider tour stability but with a firmer face and adjustable weights 

Edited by getitdaily

2 hours ago, getitdaily said:

Well, nothing beat it long term. But I recently got a pxg operator and it is likely to be my bride. Spider tour with a milled face...

Spider tour came out of the bag around September to an anser milled. Made more long putts with the anser because I had better speed (more speed near the hole). But I was so shaky over 7 footers or less. So I went exploring. Ordered the operator after trying the blackjack since November. 

Operator has that same spider tour stability but with a firmer face and adjustable weights