Jobs in golf

jmo15

I don't work in golf, but I have a number of friends who have over the years. Most have moved on to other careers because they realized that working in the golf industry leaves very, very little time to actually get to play golf. 

A few were club pros or teaching pros so when the course was open they were working (5-6 days a week minimum) not playing golf. Another was in sales for a large OEM. He spent 90% of his time either at demo days on various course's ranges or travelling to said courses. I remember him saying once that he spent 53 out of 60 days at golf courses over a two month stretch and only got to play one time. 

Of course there are always exceptions, but if you enjoy playing it might be best to stick to accounting/finance. Maybe you could find something in golf that still allows you to use your CPA?

• Like 2

10 hours ago, jmo15 said:

Anyone work in golf mind sharing what they do? I am currently a CPA and always been interested in working in the golf industry. Whether it a be full time or a side gig. Let me know!

jmo15 A good topic here.  From 2006-2014 I worked in the golf industry, both daily fee and private.  There are a lot of potential benefits to it such as free golf almost anywhere via the pga and private club member connections, free clubs, free clothes, travel opportunities.  Significant considerations however would be the time commitment, potentially low income, choosing between playing golf and having a social life.  When I was in my final season I was a Level 1 apprentice at a corporate owned 36-hole private country club, I worked 6-7 days a week and 70-80 hours during peak season.  Being married with kids I made the decision to get into sales and haven't looked back.  I've known a lot of PGA guys who end up divorced, alcoholics, and several other bad situations.  It can be a very rewarding profession, but I would just advise caution.  Maybe get a part time job with outside service to get some free golf somewhere?