Considering reshaft to shorter driver

BobAllen122

Hey all,

I'm 45yo, w/ ~100-105 mph driver swing speed. I play a G30 LST w/ PING's stock Tour 60 XS shaft. When I bought the club new, I was swinging more like 110 ss. I'm considering reshafting my driver for a couple of reasons. I think that I need a softer shaft, or at least one that fits the smoother/less violent move I have adapted. I also am thinking that I might go from the 45.5" down to 44.5" (possibly all the way down to 44.0") I want to hit the center of the club face more and in the past, I used a shorter driver with terrific results. 

I'm looking for shaft recommendations. I'd like to stay under the cost of a new driver because I love the G30 LST head which is why I'm just looking to reshaft rather than replace.

Specifically, I'm looking for a smooth feel, slightly heavier weight, and low spin shaft. I'm a spinny driver of the golf ball, so anything that can take the edge off off that while maintaining smoothness would really appeal to me. 

For historical record, I was an early adopter of the Diamana Blue 83x in a R7TP back in the day. But I've also played a GD Purple Ice 83x and a UST V2 75x. I'm just not man enough to play the X anymore. I'd love something on the order to the Diamana or the Purple Ice, but I have no idea what tech is up to these days.

Suggestions please?

Edited by BobAllen122
  • Like 1

• BobAllen122 changed the title to Considering reshaft to shorter driver

Only cut say One Third or Half an Inch then try...so 45.5 to 45,add lead etc,play a few rounds...then 44.5 the one inch less should make a Big difference.Not many need to go too 44..tho this can help those at say 5ft8inch in height.PurpleI ce were great.Suggest get lead tape too keep things at D2.5 too D3..just my opinion here..

• Like 1

2020 18 July mid winterNZ
Ping Rapture 2006 10.5
Nike VrS 3wood
Callaway Razr Edge5 wood

MP100=33 9876 5/mp63
54     RTX2
60     RTX2
ProPlatinum NewportTwo
2002 325gram +8.NewGrip