GPS system that can sync with heart rate

Hi,

My name is Erik Lundkvist and I work as an associate professor at Umeå University in Sweden. Recently me and a couple of colleagues published a paper where we investigated if emotions like nervousness, irritability, tenseness and control predicted performance using a point-by-point design (study subjects answered these questions between every hole) in golf competitions. Our results showed that emotions did not seem to predict performance of the upcoming hole as much as performance of the last played hole predicted emotions (especially irritability 😉). We also found that better players seem to be less influenced by their previous results than less skilled players which is nothing new and probably have a lot of different reasons.

Even if this study (and other studies) have learned us a bit on how emotions predict performance the design have several weaknesses. Therefore we are now planning to do several studies where we try to look deeper into this question from several different angles. One study we plan to do will be to do a similar study in several golf competitions and training rounds where we want to use heart rate as a proxy for nervousness (seem to work in a pilot study we did i e-sport) where we want to pick the situations when a person are in more pressuring situations (for example very hard holes, if one has played very good or are in a tricky lie etc...). Therefore I am looking for a way to sync GPS positions when a shot is hit with heart rate. I thought this would be pretty easy with Game golf, Shotscope or Arccos but it seems harder than I thought since they don´t seem to provide time stamps on when a shot is hit. After trying to email some (all I can think of) manufacturers I am do not feel that much smarter. Either it can´t be done or they have very little interest in a researcher from Sweden. So, does any one here know a way to do this or has an idea on how to do it?

Best regards

Erik Lundkvist