Hi,  I'm a beginner golfer, hit roughly 104 at this point. Also worth mentioning is I'm a lefty woman which makes it very difficult to find clubs and next to impossible to test/demo them.   I bought new 2019 big bertha women's irons this winter and am looking to fill my wedge gap.  My PW is 43° and my AW is 48°.   I need a sand wedge and am looking at the CBX and CBX2.  Should I go with a 54 or 56°?  

On the other end of my clubs I have a gap between my 3h  18° and my 6i which is 26°.  Should I get a 4h at 21° or 5h at 24°?  
any info would be appreciated!
thanks,  Dawn
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Dawn, welcome to golf.  My wife is a beginner / novice.  She isn’t handicapped by equipment paradigms such as what equipment is right for what type of player.  She just lines up and hits the ball with

Hi, welcome to the club! 🙂   More than anything, especially as a beginner, I would recommend not trying to overcomplicate your bag set up and only go with something you are comfortable with.

A 56* will fill all your short game needs for now ... like 60 yards and in   Your 18* and 21* aren't going to be that different in 'avg distance' unless your better than a 20 handicap

On the wedges, look at the bounce of each and that might help. My highest wedge is a 56/12 (sand wedge) and my AW is a 52/8. The lower bounce is good for fairway shots and the higher 56 is for sand and tall rough.

The 4h vs 5h is a matter of yardage. You might want both. I have a 19* 3h and a 23* 4h but also carry a 24* 4 iron, so it depends on shot and lie as to what gets used.

As with anything I would recommend hitting them first if possible and one might jump out at you.

Taylormade M3 driver Mitsubishi Kuro Kage TiNi 70G shaft (cut to 44.5")

Taylormade M1 5 wood

Taylormade M4 19* Hybrid 

Taylormade GAPR Mid 21* Hybrid

KZG Forged 2-M cavity back 4-6 

KZG Forged Blade 7-PW

Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g iron shafts