Stiff vs Regular Flex Fitting Issue

So about me - I've played for a long time and am a "feel player" which i guess is old school, but thats me in many ways. Not the longest hitter in my group but not the shortest either. Low ball flight, right handed prefer to hit draws.

I did a full fitting for the first time ever earlier this year and they suggested stiff flex shafts, which I have never used before as my swing speed is always "on the borderline" as I've been told in the past.

As I played more this year I am not getting the same feel with these clubs as my old ones, and I am thinking it's the stiff/regular difference but I do not know enough about shafts to really point the finger there. The main problem are the hybrids as they went from the strength of my bag to something that feels like I am swinging a broomstick. When I get them right (usually off the tee) they are fantastic, but otherwise they produce a very low (like 5' or less) ball flight and they do not go in the direction I intend and feel horrible. Good to bad ratio with the hybrids are like 1:7. The irons are kind of the same, but not as dramatic - when I get them flush they feel great - better than anything I've ever hit, but when I miss it's a low clunk that feels horrible. They also do not spin like my old irons.

I suspect the feel difference is mainly the shafts and wonder if going back to regular flex will solve the issues. I am going to go to a different fitter to discuss this next week, but wanted to know if I am onto something or if I am just driving myself insane.

Edited by DrOldSchool

Hi there! Nice on taking the step to do a fitting.