Shotgun Starts with groups already on course?

I just joined a local club. I have zero prior private club experience. I booked the second tee time this morning, solo. This was to be my first round on the course as a member. The starter let me start early and I was the first one on the course. There were several other foursomes warming up for their round. 

Fast forward to hole 14 and I see carts flying all around the back 9. It was immediately obvious a shotgun start was kicking off. As I wrapped up 14, I see several carts gathering on 15 tee. I packed it up and left, somewhat annoyed.

Is this pretty common? I teed off at 7:20 and the shotgun started around 9ish. I looked back at the online tee sheet and they had foursomes booked every 8 minutes from 7:20 all the way up until the shotgun start was scheduled at 9:04. Doesn't it defeat the purpose of a shotgun start if the course already has groups playing?

Yes the shotgun start was noted on the tee sheet. I did not bother looking at the rest of the sheet once I booked my early time. 

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I think even though it was noted on the tee sheet that there'd be a shotgun start, the starter/pro probably should have verbally mentioned that to you before you teed off. And you probably should have

It is common, what should of been relayed to you was that you need to be off the course by 9 or just not past 14. This was a scramble starting on 15, courses that don't do that loose money. We do it a

All a shotgun does is get all the groups on the course at the same time. You can still have groups on course if you plan it right which it sounds like what they were trying to do. If you are the first