2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Glove Questions (does price matter)

I started playing 1.5 yrs ago and was opposed to a glove. I've improved and I'm swing much faster than last summer which mean no glove isn't cutting it anymore. I generally go overboard with quality so I'm wondering if anyone has found a significant difference in the $30 gloves over the $10 gloves. 

Typically the higher priced ones will be made from a higher grade / thinner leather, while the lower priced ones will use synthetic materials that can be heavier and wear longer.  Find one that fits you properly and makes the grip comfortable regardless of price.  If you are budget conscious some of the lower priced versions can work well.  

Ping G430 w/ Tour 2.0
Ping G430 3W  

Ping G410 3H, 4H

Ping i525 5-PW Project X IO
Cleveland CBX 2 48*
Cleveland CBX Zipcore 52*
Cleveland CBX Zipcore 56*
TM Spider X 34" blue

Alphard V2 wheels

There's almost guaranteed to be a glove less than $15 that you're comfortable in and works well for you. Will be some trial and error until you find it. 

The real work is in seeing if there is a  $30 glove that lasts 5x as long as a $12 glove - and then assessing your decision there.

• Like 2

23 minutes ago, cjlayer30 said:

The real work is in seeing if there is a  $30 glove that lasts 5x as long as a $12 glove - and then assessing your decision there.

My math says it only needs to be 2.5x as long, but 5x would be outstanding. 

Stealth Plus+ 10.5* || Ventus Blue TR 7x

SIM2 Rescue 17* || Ventus Blue HB 8x

X-Forged UT 18* || MMT UT 105tx

TSi2 21* || Ventus Black HB 10tx

T100/620MB 5-9 || DG X7

SM9 47 || DG X7

SM9 51, 55, 59 || DG X1

BB8 Tri Wiz Cu Insert || BGT Stability Tour

Bettinardi BKS #1

I like the Mizuno Elite. It's about $15 and it lasts a long time. It's Cabretta leather in the palm, thumb, and forefinger but synthetic leather for the rest of the glove.

Which, of course, is why it's cheaper than Titleist and Footjoy all leather gloves.