Would you work on : face or path ?

General question – I’m a decent ball striker that started to play regularly in the last year – and I think I’m pretty well educated in the golf swing (biomechanics and technical aspects) … and a few threads recently : Obee’s wedge play + green preference (for longer or wider ones) had me thinking about distance / dispersion… I’m also aware that face angle at impact is the determinant factor in ball flight starting direction (I’ve read up to 85%)…

So, suppose one is not a complete beginner (and I know is not a ‘or’ question but rather a ‘and’) but if you had to work on feels for his swing… to try and minimize dispersion (driver, irons, wedges) but also control distance, trajectory, spin… would you try to get him to develop a more consistent swing path – or working on face control / release at impact… it seems to me that almost everyone is working/asking questions about hips, arms, OTT, shallowing, etc. to try and find a consistent in-to-out swing but way less discussions on consistent face to path control in the hitting zone…

Basically trying to figure out, for example, if my driver dispersion cone would be tighter if I worked more on face to path (and probably indirectly hitting the sweet spot more often) albeit with an in-to-out, neutral, out-to-in swing (just saying that I figure that it’s difficult to work on face to path control if path isn’t constant in itself)… rather than a constant motion but having no idea if the face is a tad open, flat, closed at impact…