2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Vintage Clubs……Vintage grips (?)

I’m pretty sure I’m about to build my first Vintage set. Perhaps a set from the 1960’s or 70’s…….the era of equipment I would have been using when I started playing golf: circa the mid 1980’s.

And I’m also pretty sure I’ll be building these to play - not display. If only relatively occasionally…..

**What do you guys who play Vintage sets do reference grips  ? Do you use an older looking / plain and simple / or even a replica grip to keep the clubs visually correct ? Or use something more modern / the same as on your modern set to keep things ‘even’ when playing ?

Do replica grips from days gone by even exist ? I bet a set of 14 leather wrap grips isn’t cheap these days ? 

Thanks all. Excited to get going  ️ 

• Like 1

PING - G20 - 9.5  degree - Grafalloy ProLaunch Blue - X
BRIDGESTONE J33 (15) - Grafalloy ProLaunch Blue - X
MIZUNO Fli-Hi (17+20) - Grafalloy ProLaunch Blue - X
PING  ZING2 Irons (4-PW) - Black Lie angle - JZ Stiff
CALLAWAY MD3 Black (52+58 deg) DG Pro: S300
RIFE Iconic Three Putter -  343g  / 34.5" / 68 Deg 

TAYLORMADE TP5-X Yellow << 2021 Version >>

Regards "Shuv" : sevenfourate's WITB LINK (Click right here):

I buy old stuff to play, so I've no qualms about putting new grips on old clubs. Another option I've taken to recently is wrapping the original grip in the sort of tape used for tennis racquet grips. My local golf shop sells similar tape designed for golf clubs, but the tennis stuff is slightly cheaper where I am. 

Obviously, wrapping the grip with tape results in a thicker grip, but I like thicker grips generally, so it's not a problem.

Edited by No_Catchy_Nickname
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

When I started playing in the early 70's I don't remember seeing leather on new clubs, everything had victory grips. Not much of a fan of those anymore.