2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Graphite shafts in vintage clubs

PhillipG78

16 hours ago, raggal62 said:

Not in that weight range, but have reshafted many vintage irons with modern graphite. Also a few persimmon but but that's a little more involved.

About half of my persimmon woods already have graphite shafts in them. Many Japanese seem to have made the switch to graphite earlier than Europe and the USA. I certainly don't recall anyone playing graphite shafted persimmon woods when I started playing in the UK, although many got graphite shafts when they switched to metal woods (This would be around the early Nineties*).

On auction sites here (Japan), I see a few old iron sets with graphite. Probably nothing from the Eighties, but certainly some from the Nineties. Not overly common, but not that uncommon either. Must have cost a fair bit back in the day.

* edit: thinking back, I think the majority of people at my club and those I played against in the city's junior league were switching to graphite-shafted drivers by the late Eighties. I reckon almost every junior I played against back then had a Taylormade driver (Burner?) with a graphite shaft. I certainly had one, bought second hand to replace my persimmon Mizuno that got stolen.

Edited by No_Catchy_Nickname
Clarity
  • Like 2

Two of my Golden Ram sets have graphite shafts in them.  NV105 in TW276 set, RIP Tour 115 in the TW282 set.  Considering Steelfiber 95 in another set.

I wouldn't hesitate to do this with any of my sets.  I more or less need to use graphite shafts if I want to play golf, makes no sense (to me) to avoid the sets I wish to use because they were originally offered with shafts that are less friendly to my elbows and wrists.

Edited by NRJyzr
  • Like 3

The Ever Changing Bag!  A lot of mixing and matching
Driver: TM 300 Mini 11.5*, 43.5", Phenom NL 60X -or- Cobra SpeedZone, ProtoPype 80S, 43.5"