Is Getting Fitted a Waste for Those Who Tinker?

dwb7272

Looking for input. I have played golf decently for over 40 years. Laid off awhile but with practice can get to single digit hc. I work on my own clubs and like to tinker and always changing clubs.

I have never been fitted but have an idea on what works best for me. Would going through a professional fitting be a waste of time as if I get fitted irons, most likely would still want to tinker.

Or would at least knowing what works best be beneficial for future? I'm over 60 and swing speed not what it was, so regular flex shafts are in my future. Thinking about going to PXG to at least get fitted.

Thanks for any input and help. 

I'm 66 and recently went to regular shafts and it's great!  I also like to tinker, not so much with my clubs but with my swing.  I'm a high single digit cap and change my swing about every 2 to 3 weeks just for fun.  I've been playing golf for about 12 years.  I was fitted at Ping about 11 years ago.  I've not changed the fit numbers since then.  When I was fitted it was more of a "your fit numbers are between here and here. Anything in there is fine".  

I think it depends on what you mean when you say "tinker".

If you're constantly messing with the lofts, lie angles, lengths, and etc. then yes I think it would be a big waste of time. 

However, if by tinker you just mean that you try different clubs then a fitting isn't the worst idea. At least you'll have a good idea as to what is best for you in terms of shaft flex, lie angle, and those things. You could still experiment with different clubs at that point as long as you remain consistent with the specs that work for you. 

Edited by Abh159
  • Like 2

37 minutes ago, dwb7272 said:

Looking for input. I have played golf decently for over 40 years. Laid off awhile but with practice can get to single digit hc. I work on my own clubs and like to tinker and always changing clubs.