2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Do pros flight 60* wedges or club up?

Barfolomew

41 minutes ago, Barfolomew said:

We always hear about pros flighting wedges. 

When they have shorter shots within the lob wedge distance do they flight a 60* or do they often club up and play the gap?  Thanks

I cant speak as a pro as I am not a pro LOL,  but learning as much as I have and now having a SIM has opened the door to data.

Assumptions,

Shot scenario dictates how and why they would flight, 

Flighting in my opinion introduces a bunch of things.

1) Loft at impact (potential decrease)

2) AoA (Increased)

3) Spin Loft (Increased)

4) Smash factor. (Increased)

5) Spin (Increased)

From me playing around on a sim one of the interesting things I have found was the difference in smash factor when "flighting" shots.  The reason is less loft and many times ball position further back has you "covering" the ball more.

Smash factor increases for me, the ball goes further,  BUT with the more ballspeed I also see an increase of spin.  Again for me, its due to increased smash, Steeper AoA and potential spin loft. (potential, as I know some say AoA is independent of Spin loft affecting overall spin). Spin into wind (which normally why I flight a shot) Affects the overall distance.

SO......what all this means is,  depending on the distance to hit a flighted 60*,  how far you hit it,  How much smash will increase, relative to your knock down swing,  How much spin is affected and the landing area.

If they have a tight spot and need the max spin into the wind, they might full bore a flighted LW,

if its into the wind to the middle of the green where roll is available, they may just club up 1 or 2 clubs hit a 3/4 shot low with less spin and run it up.  I think they have practiced this with data down to a science and the caddy is there as well to calculate the effects of distance, spin relative to head wind and landing area.   Just a lot going on to hit a specified shot now days.