Jump to content

Hitting a ball in a penalty area then losing it


VinnyG41
 Share

Recommended Posts

So here's a situation I saw someone in in a casual round which just made me wonder what the ruling should technically be:

 

Player hits a shot into a penalty area. The shot is found and the player tries to hit out of the penalty area. The ball never crosses the penalty area boundary and is lost after trying to hit out. The player pulled out of the penalty area on line with where their tee shot crosses, took a stroke, and hit their fourth shot. 

 

The question is after hitting a shot in a penalty area and losing it without crossing a penalty area, can you then pull out of the penalty area and take relief based on where your tee shot crossed? Or, since you tried the shot in the penalty area do you have to take the penalty and drop from where you hit in the penalty area since your tee shot was two shots before and not the last shot? Or, is there some other way this should properly be played according to the rules of golf?

Edited by VinnyG41
Link to comment
Share on other sites

13 minutes ago, VinnyG41 said:

So here's a situation I saw someone in in a casual round which just made me wonder what the ruling should technically be:

 

Player hits a shot into a penalty area. The shot is found and the player tries to hit out of the penalty area. The ball never crosses the penalty area boundary and is lost after trying to hit out. The player pulled out of the penalty area on line with where their tee shot crosses, took a stroke, and hit their fourth shot. 

 

The question is after hitting a shot in a penalty area and losing it without crossing a penalty area, can you then pull out of the penalty area and take relief based on where your tee shot crossed? Or, since you tried the shot in the penalty area do you have to take the penalty and drop from where you hit in the penalty area since your tee shot was two shots before and not the last shot? Or, is there some other way this should properly be played according to the rules of golf?

 

Rule 17.2(a)

  • Like 3

Callaway Epic Flash SZ Tour AD TP

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Tour AD TP

Adams Idea Pro 20* Aldila Stiff

Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Forged, 48, 52, 60, DGS300

Cally PM Grind 56 KBS Tour 115

Odyssey OG 7 (Today)

Titleist ProV1x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 minutes ago, jacob7071 said:

Sounds to me like they played it right but counted it wrong, and the applicable rule is 17.2b.  First shot in the penalty area, 2nd shot lost, 2 penalty strokes to get out of the penalty area, then hitting 5th shot

image.png.1d8bce4c87037e334d1cea99cc71b11c.png

image.png.5c23cd4e8a148be5473a88668fc02a22.png

 

Situation 3 (above) is exactly how he played it. Played his fourth after hitting it in the same hazard, since he was certain it was in the penalty area and didn't hit it outside the penalty area. And out of the options available, it seemed like the most reasonable one

Edited by VinnyG41
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, jacob7071 said:

Sounds to me like they played it right but counted it wrong, and the applicable rule is 17.2b.  First shot in the penalty area, 2nd shot lost, 2 penalty strokes to get out of the penalty area, then hitting 5th shot

17.2b is about a ball played from a penalty area and lost or out of bounds outside the penalty area.

In the situation described the ball does not leave the penalty area but is lost inside it.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, jacob7071 said:

Sounds to me like they played it right but counted it wrong, and the applicable rule is 17.2b.  First shot in the penalty area, 2nd shot lost, 2 penalty strokes to get out of the penalty area, then hitting 5th shot

The 2 penalty stroke scenario is if the player first drops a ball inside the penalty area where the second stroke was played from and then decides to take relief from outside the penalty area. Alternatively, if the player goes directly to relief outside the penalty (lateral/back on line/back to the tee) it is only one penalty stroke, as discussed in other posts.

  • Like 3
Link to comment
Share on other sites

On 10/15/2021 at 4:35 PM, Colin L said:

17.2b is about a ball played from a penalty area and lost or out of bounds outside the penalty area.

In the situation described the ball does not leave the penalty area but is lost inside it.

Ah, you're right.  I read that the 2nd shot was lost so S&D was necessary.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • Our picks

    • 2022 Farmers Insurance Open Photos - 26 WITBs & New Gear- Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
      General Albums - 
       
      2022 Farmers Insurance Open - Monday #1
      2022 Farmers Insurance Open - Monday #2
      2022 Farmers Insurance Open - Monday #3
      2022 Farmers Insurance Open - Monday #4
       
       
      WITB Albums - 
       
      Hideki Matsuyama - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Sung Kang - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Adam Long - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Brandon Wu - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Jimmy Walker - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Sam Burns - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Xander Schauffele - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Trey Mullinax - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Daniel Berger - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      James Hahn - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Phil Mickelson - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Aaron Wise - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Justin Thomas - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Lee Hodges - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Jordan Spieth - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Cameron Champ - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Kyle Stanley - WITB - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
       
       
      Pullout Albums - 
       
      New Super Stroke grip - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Tour Aim alignment aids - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Swag Golf: Hideki's caddie bowing at Augusta, signed headcovers – 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Dylan Frittelli's Callaway Apex TCB Sand Wedge (1-of-1 proto) – 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      Bryson DeChambeau's Cobra King LTDx 5-degree driver – 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      NeuroPeak Pro NTel Belt - 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
      JumboMax JMX Zen Lite grips – 2022 Farmers Insurance Open
       
      Cameron Champ WITB has the new Ping i525

       
      Bryson's WITB has the new Cobra LTDx Driver 

       
      Phils new Rogue Driver

       
      Bryson's LAGolf Shaft in the driver

       
      Xander has the triple diamond "S" driver

       
      New SuperStroke grips for 2022

       
        • Like
      • 8 replies
    • 2022 The American Express WITB Photos (Spotted: New gear for 2022) - Discussion & Links
      Please put and comments or questions here
       
       
      Scotty Cameron putters - 2022 American Express
      New Taylor-Made putters - 2022 American Express
      New Odyssey putters - 2022 American Express
      New Axis 1 model putter - - 2022 American Express
      Patrick Cantlay - WITB - 2022 American Express
      Mitsubishi MMT putter shaft - 2022 American Express
      Ping putter - 2022 American Express
      Abraham Ancer - WITB - 2022 American Express
      Jason Dufner - WITB - 2022 American Express
      Will Zalatoris - WITB - 2022 American Express
      The Surgeon 6109 wedge - 2022 American Express
      LA Golf "DJ Series" shafts (2022 American Express)
       
       
       
      2022 American Express - Monday #1
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 40 replies
    • Sony Open Pics from January 11, 2022 Part 1
      I was able to get out to the Sony Open today to take a few pics.  I guess due to Covid precautions they kept the spectators pretty far from the players.  Also due to camera restrictions they've put in place, I wasn't able to bring the big lens like I normally do. Hopefully they'll ease up on the ropes and I'll be able to get more pics tomorrow!
        • Like
      • 22 replies
    • 2022 Callaway Rogue ST drivers (in-hand photos)
      2022 Callaway Rogue ST Max driver
       

       
      2022 Callaway Rogue ST Max D driver
       
      2021 Callaway Rogue ST Max 
       
      2022 Callaway Rogue ST Max LS driver

       
      2022 Callaway Rogue ST Triple Diamond LS

       
      Rogue ST exploded views
      • 221 replies
    • Titleist Vokey SM9 Link on Wedge Works Coming Soon- UPDATED Pics Added Pg 4
      Looks like there is a link on Titleist Wedge Works for the new Vokey SM9, but doesn't show any photos yet.
       
      https://www.vokey.com/product/WM137.html#start=4
      • 237 replies

×
×
  • Create New...