Golfchicago

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 1 month later...
  • 2 weeks later...

I'd like to know some excercised I can do with my physioball, as well as the benefits of Pilates as it relates to the golf swing. I just bought a Pilates machine, and I've found that after 1 week my abs and core muscles feel a hell of a lot tighter.

Thanks. Any idea when the articles will be posted?

Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to those of you looking for golf fitness information.

I am a physical therapist who has dedicated my ten year career to helping amatuer and professional golfer's achieve their physical goals. I manage an office in Oak Brook IL called the AthletiCo Golf Performance Center. In my facility we have mutliple avenues of technology that enable us to precisely asses exactly what you are doing during your golf swing... these technologies include 3 camera 2D analysis, 3D wireless analysis (looking at rotational velocities and kinetic link information - ie. power leaks) and a force plate in the ground to asses weight transfer and balance information.

That said..... the best exercise program for golf is one that is not only for golf but one that is specifically for you!!!. There are basically common areas of rotational mobility concern...

1. Ankles (calve flexibility)

2. Hip joints (mostly internal rotation) = stretching for the gluts, piriformis good.

3. Torso rotation flexibility that starts with good posture

4. Shoulder rotation flexibility that enables at least 100 deg of external rotation (the motion that the R arm goes into at the top of the backswing with the elbow pointing down at the ground) on both sides.

In addition to the mobility areas.... there are also areas of stability that must be assessed and usually addressed.