Going back to older irons

5dogs

I went through this last year trying older sets I had passed on new. Started the year with NOS 765s and traded backward because I really did not get along with them.

Lots of regrips and trials later I have two new sets. Mizuno 921 HM by trade and 0211 DC from a smoking deal at PXG.

Other than giving me something to do during dead time I wouldn’t recommend it.

• Like 1

There are a ton of great clubs but as @tannyhoban said, it can get expensive unless you can but low and sell high. I found a stack of NOS KZG's a guy on eBay had that I got for next to nothing and are one of the best clubs I've hit. But I'm missing a 6 iron and the grooves aren't conforming, so that could be an issue. 

You can find a ton of quality sets for less than half the price of new.

PXG 0211 with Hzrdus Black RDX 60

Honma XP-1 3 and 5 wood 

Adams Pro DHY 3

Haywood MB irons 4-PW

Mitsubishi Kuro Kage 80g iron shafts

Haywood 52/10 and 56/12 wedges

Nike Blue Chip 002 putter

Golf Pride Concept Helix grips 

"You're not good enough to get mad at your bad shots!" - Bill Murray

Well, since I have been gaming TA 855 5,6,7 and 8-PW Callaway x-forged with a Ping and Wilson hybrid thrown in, I'm clearly on the side of "newer isn't better". You can find a lot of very good used / older options at prices that are nothing compared to new. And more importantly, half the fun is in the chase to find something that works for you. Don't be afraid to experiment, and if you find something that isn't right, go ahead and flip it without taking a terrible loss as you would on new. Good luck and have fun finding your perfect set up!

• Like 2