LAB Putters adjustment period and stroke change

jomatty

I’ve been very interested in the LAB putters since they came out.  I have not had a chance to actually try one though and have some reservations that I am hoping you guys can comment on.  I’ve read the long thread on the putters and was able to get some insight, but still am having a hard time deciding.  Normally I would not buy a putter that cost in the $500 range without trying it first (I’m a chef so not a wealthy golf type!).  This technology interests me enough that I am considering getting a MEZZ.

Anyways, my concern involves the idea that it seems that tour players have difficulty adjusting to the putters due to their ingrained ability to control and manage torque.  I’m far from a tour player, but I do play at least 5 days a week, and often 7, and consider myself a good putter.  I’m a far from great, but decent player, who’s handicap is currently a 3.6.  There is room for improvement with my putting (there always is) but I am not unhappy with how I roll the ball.  From listening to the WRX podcast with LAB’s CEO the host and him seemed to agree that it takes some serious modifications of ones putting stroke and relearning not manipulating torque to get the most out of these putters.  I also am someone who will change putters if I have a bad couple rounds putting, as I find it helps me mentally reset and I have several putters I like a similar amount.  I enjoy this variety and if I truly had to make major changes to my putting stroke would miss this, as I would not want to have to change my actual stroke if I wanted to put a different putter in play.