Best affordable hall for a beginner?

Gdub17

Posted (edited)

My 14 year old son got his own set of clubs this Christmas. He likes the game and I’m trying to teach him. When I started playing at 14 there was no YouTube or internet. I learned to play by watching pro tournaments and teaching myself. Don’t laugh. I bought some top flite xl’s for his first 9 hole round because I figured we’d lose a bunch of balls but we ended losing only one on his very first 9 hole round. He didn’t miss a fairway off the tee except for a par 3 so I’d like to buy some slightly better balls for us to use. Money is an object so nothing crazy expensive. What ball do you guys recommend? whats hilarious is I used the exact same balls I bought for him when I started playing 23 years ago. lol

Edited by Gdub17
  • Like 1

12 minutes ago, Gdub17 said:

I was going to make a joke about not playing Costco balls. I don’t have a membership so can you purchase them anywhere else?

I've got some spares. Plus various other quality (new) balls in my spares' locker.  If you want to work a deal and see how many we can fit into a USPS Medium Flat Rate box, drop me a PM.

Ping G400 Max driver w/Aldila Rogue 125 Silver
Cobra F7 4 wood w/Aldila Rogue Black
Cobra F7 Hybrid w/Aldila Kuro Kage
Ping G30 irons w/DG Lite
Ping Glide wedges w/Recoil 110
Ping Anser - the "real deal!"

I'm a big fan of the Cut family of balls. If you want tour level they have the grey and blue for $20/dozen. Only downside is they can scuff easier than others. The grey seems better than the blue for that, and it seems like they have improved the durability. Straight up value, the Cut red is a good ball imo, can get 24 for $20 at Walmart. I also have a soft spot for the noodle.