Jump to content

Counting a Wiff


Recommended Posts

Was playing with my bother and his ball landed under a low hanging limb.  He attempted a swing, the club hit the limb on his backswing and he wiffed.  He asked if he had to count that and I said yes.  He challenged me later to show him in the USGA rules where that is counted as a stroke.  I have found a response on various website that state the stroke counts but not in the USGA rules can anyone point me in the right direction?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

In the USGA rule book (emphasis mine)

Purpose of Rule: Rule 10.1 covers how to make a stroke and several acts that are prohibited in doing so. A stroke is made by fairly striking at a ball with the head of a club. The fundamental challenge is for you to direct and control the movement of the entire club by freely swinging the club without anchoring it.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=10

 

I will say, however, they need to clarify this, because it also states:

 

In making a stroke:

  • The player must fairly strike at the ball with the head of the club such that there is only momentary contact between the club and the ball and must not push, scrape or scoop the ball.

Edited by larrybud
Link to comment
Share on other sites

In addition to the definition of Stroke - referred to above, here is part of an Interpretation.

 

Stroke/1 – Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

48 minutes ago, larrybud said:

In the USGA rule book (emphasis mine)

Purpose of Rule: Rule 10.1 covers how to make a stroke and several acts that are prohibited in doing so. A stroke is made by fairly striking at a ball with the head of a club. The fundamental challenge is for you to direct and control the movement of the entire club by freely swinging the club without anchoring it.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=10

 

I will say, however, they need to clarify this, because it also states:

 

In making a stroke:

  • The player must fairly strike at the ball with the head of the club such that there is only momentary contact between the club and the ball and must not push, scrape or scoop the ball.

 

What is there to clarify?

  • Thanks 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, antip said:

In addition to the definition of Stroke - referred to above, here is part of an Interpretation.

 

Stroke/1 – Determining If a Stroke Was Made

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.

 

Where did you find this?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This part of the definition of a stroke would fit the bill:

 

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.

Sto Pro Veritate

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, Girevik said:

This part of the definition of a stroke would fit the bill:

 

If a player starts the downswing with a club intending to strike the ball, his or her action counts as a stroke when:

  • The clubhead is deflected or stopped by an outside influence (such as the branch of a tree) whether or not the ball is struck.

 

Another example of needing clarification. What if the clubhead is NOT deflected or stopped by an outside influence and misses?

Side note: Why don't the R&A and USGA sites match in the text of their rules?

Edited by larrybud
Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, larrybud said:

 

The part that says 

 

"The player must fairly strike at the ball with the head of the club such that there is only momentary contact between the club and the ball"

 

That implies that contact must be made.

 

The definition tells us what counts as a stroke and the rule tells us how that stroke needs to (or can't) be made. There's no contradiction.

  • Like 1

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, larrybud said:

 

Another example of needing clarification. What if the clubhead is NOT deflected or stopped by an outside influence and misses?

Side note: Why don't the R&A and USGA sites match in the text of their rules?

 

Have you read the actual definition of Stroke (underlining is mine)? A stroke has not been made if the player decides to not strike the ball and manages to miss it. In other cases the stroke counts (as long as the club stays in one piece).

 

 

The forward movement of the club made to strike the ball.
But a stroke has not been made if the player:
  • Decides during the downswing not to strike the ball and avoids doing so by deliberately stopping the clubhead before it reaches the ball or, if unable to stop, by deliberately missing the ball.
  • Like 1

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 minute ago, Halebopp said:

 

The definition tells us what counts as a stroke and the rule tells us how that stroke needs to (or can't) be made. There's no contradiction.


Not in the USGA manual it doesn't. Ignore the R&A definition for a moment and let's go back to the USGA manual with the definition of a stroke

 

The "player definition" of a stroke says:

Stroke
The forward movement of your club made to strike the ball.

 

A fair argument could be made that if the ball is not struck, then the definition is not fulfilled. Now, I'm not arguing that. Since I've been alive "intent" is what matters. It should be reworded:

 

The forward movement of your club with the intent to strike the ball.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 minutes ago, larrybud said:


Not in the USGA manual it doesn't. Ignore the R&A definition for a moment and let's go back to the USGA manual with the definition of a stroke

 

The "player definition" of a stroke says:

Stroke
The forward movement of your club made to strike the ball.

 

A fair argument could be made that if the ball is not struck, then the definition is not fulfilled. Now, I'm not arguing that. Since I've been alive "intent" is what matters. It should be reworded:

 

The forward movement of your club with the intent to strike the ball.

 

There's only one set of Rules of Golf, co-authored by the R&A and the USGA. It doesn't matter which one you use, the R&A is the same and just as good as the USGA definition.

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, larrybud said:


The text on their rules websites aren't the same. Did you know that?

 

No, I was not aware of that. How is this different from the R&A version outside of not including the Interpretations?

 

image.png.8d08e92f3f8416601deebb6e525829e0.png

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Hawkeye77 said:

One of the easiest rules to understand.  

 

When I started playing I was told it's a penalty stroke if you miss. Therefore I counted the stroke and then added a penalty stroke. 🙂

  • Haha 1

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

21 hours ago, Halebopp said:

 

When I started playing I was told it's a penalty stroke if you miss. Therefore I counted the stroke and then added a penalty stroke. 🙂

But I'll bet if someone had shown you the rule, even at an early age, you would have understood it! 😀

 

I still say "line of flight" is the most misused, made up faux golf standard for golfers of all ages. 

 

I was told as a kid, by other kids, if I wasn't careful with my fishing hooks I'd get "lockjaw", lol - I'm sure my parents would have enjoyed that had it happened literally.  

Edited by Hawkeye77
  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, larrybud said:

 

The part that says 

 

"The player must fairly strike at the ball with the head of the club such that there is only momentary contact between the club and the ball"

 

That implies that contact must be made.

 

No, it only says that when there is a contact it must be a momentary one. The Definition of a Stroke tells us what constitutes a stroke.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, larrybud said:


The text on their rules websites aren't the same. Did you know that?

 

The rules and definitions appear to be identical but organized a bit differently.

 

e.g. R&A have the interpretations, at least in the definitions, withing the definition. USGA has 3 separate tabs/locations. "Player's Edition", "Full Rules" and "Interpretations"

 

Perhaps you're looking at the "Player's Edition" instead of the "Full Rules" ?

  • Like 1

Callaway Epic Flash SZ Tour AD TP

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Tour AD TP

Adams Idea Pro 20* Aldila Stiff

Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Forged, 48, 52, 56, 60, DGS300

Odyssey 5K Triple Wide 34" (Today)

Titleist ProV1x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, nsxguy said:

 

The rules and definitions appear to be identical but organized a bit differently.

 

e.g. R&A have the interpretations, at least in the definitions, withing the definition. USGA has 3 separate tabs/locations. "Player's Edition", "Full Rules" and "Interpretations"

 

Perhaps you're looking at the "Player's Edition" instead of the "Full Rules" ?

 

Also R&A has  "Player's Edition", "Rules of Golf (= Full Rules)" and "Interpretations", and all the texts are the same on both websites, just as you say.

Edited by Mr. Bean
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Trying to dispel some misunderstandings here.

1. There is absolutely no difference between the USGA and R&A 'versions'. There is only one version. But there are different publications they both co-author - specifically the "Player's Edition" is notably abbreviated from the "Rules of Golf" (the full rules version). And then we have the Official Guide, which adds to the full rules the Interpretations, Committee Procedures, Model Local Rules and Disability Rules. Relying on the Player's Edition can cause problems in some limited situations. RBs decided the interests of rules knowledge were better served by producing an abbreviated version in the hope more folk would carry and check it and be less daunted by the full version.

2. Rule 10.1 is not about whether there was a stroke, it is about whether the stroke that was made gets a penalty for being an illegitimate stroke. It does not "authorise" a wiff.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, antip said:

2. Rule 10.1 is not about whether there was a stroke, it is about whether the stroke that was made gets a penalty for being an illegitimate stroke. It does not "authorise" a wiff.

 

"Penalty for an illegitimate stroke" ?

 

"Authorise a whiff" ?

 

Seriously, as often happens, the usual back and forth finally uncovered the answer(s) about what is and isn't a stroke.

 

Do you really think you added to the clarification ?

 

Or have you added more confusion🤦‍♀️

Callaway Epic Flash SZ Tour AD TP

Ping G425 14.5 Fairway Tour AD TP

Adams Idea Pro 20* Aldila Stiff

Ping G20, 5-PW, DGS300 Yellow Dot

Ping Glide Forged, 48, 52, 56, 60, DGS300

Odyssey 5K Triple Wide 34" (Today)

Titleist ProV1x

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, nsxguy said:

 

"Penalty for an illegitimate stroke" ?

 

"Authorise a whiff" ?

 

Seriously, as often happens, the usual back and forth finally uncovered the answer(s) about what is and isn't a stroke.

 

Do you really think you added to the clarification ?

 

Or have you added more confusion🤦‍♀️

Above, Larrybud suggested the USGA and R&A are signed up for different things. And quoting 10.1 said:

 

"The player must fairly strike at the ball with the head of the club such that there is only momentary contact between the club and the ball"

 

That implies that contact must be made.

 

My comments respond to this. 10.1 is about making a stroke (counting stroke) in a wrong/illegitimate way. And 10.1 does not mean a wiff is not a counting stroke.

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
       
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #1
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #2
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #3
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #4
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Wednesday #1
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
       Marc Leishman - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Jhonattan Vegas - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Scottie Scheffler - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Jon Rahm - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cam Smith - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Justin Thomas - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cameron Young - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Collin Morikawa - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Rory McIlroy - mini WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
       
      New Ping putters - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Aaron Wise's new Cameron putter - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      New Odyssey putters - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      New Odyssey putter covers - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cameron Masterful+ & Timeless+ - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cameron T-12 prototype - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      New Softspike Tour Flex Pro spike - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 4 replies
    • 2022 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comment here
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2022 Wyndham Championship - Monday #1
      2022 Wyndham Championship - Monday #2
      2022 Wyndham Championship - Monday #3
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
       
      Mac McGirt (Will's son) - WITB - 2022 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
      Pullout albums
       
       
      Cameron putters - 2022 Wyndham Championship
      Odyssey/Toulon putters - 2022 Wyndham Championship
      New Cameron Custom Shop putter covers - 2022 Wyndham Championship
      Axis 1 - 2022 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB & Photos- Links and discussion here
      Please put and questions or comments here 
       
       
      General Albums
       
       
      2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic - Monday #1
      2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
       
      Ben Cook - WITB - Michigan PGA Section Champ - 2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
       
      Cameron putters - 2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic
       
       
       
       

       
        • Like
      • 9 replies
    • Post in PING G430 - Are They Finally Going Back to a Carbon Fiber Crown?
      So this was lurking on the USGA conforming clubs site... would be nice to see a a view from address.
       
        • Thanks
        • Like
    • 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews: WITB & Equipment Photos- Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
       
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Sunday #1
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Sunday #2
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #1
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #2
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #3
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #4
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #5
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #6
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
       
      Srixon staff bags - 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Mizuno 221 "Blue" irons - 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Titleist 150th golf balls - 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Justin Thomas testing a Titleist T200 2-iron: 150th Open Championship
      Mito Pereira testing a Ping i525 3iron for 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      TaylorMade's 2022 Open Championship staff bag??
      Callaway staff golf bags for the 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Titleist's 2022 Open Championship bag???
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 22 replies

×
×
  • Create New...