Jump to content

Ball that crosses a red penalty area but then continues ob


Recommended Posts

8 minutes ago, dugue4 said:

If I hit a ball into a red penalty area but the boundary of the course goes through the penalty area, is my ball in the penalty area or out of bounds?

 

It depends where it ends up. If it ends up out of bounds then it is out of bounds.

 

Just to be clear, the boundary does not go through the penalty area but it tells you where the PA ends and that is the boundary of the course. If the boundary travels across a pond or similar it might be bad planning as it will be very difficult to say where the ball has ended up.

 

Edited by Mr. Bean
  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

When a penalty area abuts OB, the PA is deemed to extend indefinitely. For example a small creek running along a fairway and the other side of the creek is OB. Not sure if this is a local rule that needs to be adopted or just one of the general rules, but I have come across this numerous times.  

 

So if your ball crossed the margin of the PA and you find your ball on the other side in someone's back yard, or in the woods, it doesn't matter where it came to rest- it is not OB and you would be able to take PA relief.  

 

 

  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

41 minutes ago, szaino said:

When a penalty area abuts OB, the PA is deemed to extend indefinitely. For example a small creek running along a fairway and the other side of the creek is OB. Not sure if this is a local rule that needs to be adopted or just one of the general rules, but I have come across this numerous times.  

 

So if your ball crossed the margin of the PA and you find your ball on the other side in someone's back yard, or in the woods, it doesn't matter where it came to rest- it is not OB and you would be able to take PA relief.  

 

 

 

Somebody is now in the woods... deep...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 minutes ago, szaino said:

 

Well I didn't make it up ??

 

 

 

image.png.107d81753dfd49e8f331f02aa7b4168d.png

 

You've seriously misunderstood those texts. In the first case there is no OB and therefore the Penalty Area extends to infinity. The local rule simply covers any claims of an improperly marked PA, in which case the Definition of PA would tell us the unreachable ball that's come to rest on land wouldn't be in the PA.

 

In the second case the ball needs to come to rest in the Penalty Area and, when the ball crosses into the PA from OB, the opposite-side relief option is recommended to provide players with another relief option alongside Stroke and Distance relief.

Edited by Halebopp

Swing DNA: 91/4/3/6/6
Woods: ST 180 or MP-650 - Irons: MP-H5 / MP-53 / MP-4, KBS Tour S - 50º: MP-T5 / 55º: FG Tour PMP  / 60º: Hi-Toe - Mizuno Bettinardi BC-4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If the ball lies OB, it’s OB. The ONLY way for a ball to be OB is that the committee has to define where OB is. Otherwise, we have infinite room around a course to play the game. 
 

That said, if the committee defines OB on the opposite side of a PA, and now your ball lies OB, it’s OB. 
 

The “infinite PA” only applies to parts of the course that have not been defined as OB, and large bodies, like an ocean to the left of 18th at Pebble. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Augster said:

If the ball lies OB, it’s OB. The ONLY way for a ball to be OB is that the committee has to define where OB is. Otherwise, we have infinite room around a course to play the game. 
 

That said, if the committee defines OB on the opposite side of a PA, and now your ball lies OB, it’s OB. 
 

The “infinite PA” only applies to parts of the course that have not been defined as OB, and large bodies, like an ocean to the left of 18th at Pebble. 

I suggest your "ONLY way" comment is too restrictive. The neighbouring properties are OB regardless of what the Committee has done, they are outside the boundary of the course - that is a legal rather than a Committee marking issue. But if a Committee hasn't made clear where the edge is then it is left to the player's own devices to make the call, which is very undesirable and irresponsible of the Committee. Neighbours are sometimes helpful, building big fences, employing vicious dogs etc, etc.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, antip said:

I suggest your "ONLY way" comment is too restrictive. The neighbouring properties are OB regardless of what the Committee has done, they are outside the boundary of the course - that is a legal rather than a Committee marking issue. But if a Committee hasn't made clear where the edge is then it is left to the player's own devices to make the call, which is very undesirable and irresponsible of the Committee. Neighbours are sometimes helpful, building big fences, employing vicious dogs etc, etc.

 

We may be experiencing a cultural difference here. At some country golf course, with no discernable committee, the farmer's meadow left of #4 just may be in play. Or, at a la-de-dah course at which I've refereed, the home owners' properties which line many fairways are not marked or played as out of bounds. (It's a crap arrangement and I don't look forward to refereeing there ever again.)

Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play competitive golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

40 minutes ago, sui generis said:

 

We may be experiencing a cultural difference here. At some country golf course, with no discernable committee, the farmer's meadow left of #4 just may be in play. Or, at a la-de-dah course at which I've refereed, the home owners' properties which line many fairways are not marked or played as out of bounds. (It's a crap arrangement and I don't look forward to refereeing there ever again.)

Here the farmers always seem to fence, but we see plenty of stories of the livestock on the course in parts of the UK ("can I get relief from that fresh cow pat? No, but you may move it providing the ball doesn't move"). On your latter example, I'd be trying to tool up pre-event with some paint/stakes.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, antip said:

I'd be trying to tool up pre-event with some paint/stakes.

 

The course (and home owners) wouldn't let us do that. 🙄 The best we could do is tell the players to not play out of the flower beds. Post 2019, if that course comes up again perhaps some sort of unmarked red PA compromise can be made to work.

Knowledge of the Rules is part of the applied skill set which a player must use to play competitive golf.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, sui generis said:

 

The course (and home owners) wouldn't let us do that. 🙄 The best we could do is tell the players to not play out of the flower beds. Post 2019, if that course comes up again perhaps some sort of unmarked red PA compromise can be made to work.

There are extremely non-intrusive options - temporary small stakes or flags could be put out and removed same day if needed. But if they won't even accept that then the players can have at it and chew up those yards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, sui generis said:

 

We may be experiencing a cultural difference here. At some country golf course, with no discernable committee, the farmer's meadow left of #4 just may be in play. Or, at a la-de-dah course at which I've refereed, the home owners' properties which line many fairways are not marked or played as out of bounds. (It's a crap arrangement and I don't look forward to refereeing there ever again.)

 

So what you do is you tell the player to walk to their ball. If the player is not gunned down by the property owner the ball is in bounds.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

13 hours ago, dugue4 said:

If I hit a ball into a red penalty area but the boundary of the course goes through the penalty area, is my ball in the penalty area or out of bounds?

Your ball seems to have finished near a blue tennis court. There doesn't seem to be a marking of the PA and OB shared margin. Where is the missing red line?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, Newby said:

Your ball seems to have finished near a blue tennis court. There doesn't seem to be a marking of the PA and OB shared margin. Where is the missing red line?

I didn’t/couldn’t see through the trees. I’m sure there was a property fence there which marks OB as per course rules. 
 

 

Edited by dugue4

Driver - PXG 0811 Gen 2

3+w - Callaway Epic Flash

5w - Sub 70 949X

3-6i i200s

7-UW i210s

56* - Sub 70 286

Putter - Ping Anser 3

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, dugue4 said:

I didn’t/couldn’t see through the trees. I’m sure there was a property fence there which marks OB as per course rules. 
 

 

 

So you know your ball was lost in the water (= PA) but cannot tell where. In the absence of such knowledge the Interpretation 17.1a/2 gives some guidance:

 

"Ball Lost in Either Penalty Area or Abnormal Course Condition Adjacent to Penalty Area

 

If a player's ball is not found in an area where there is a penalty area and an adjacent abnormal course condition, the player must use reasonable judgment (Rule 1.3b(2)) when determining the location of the ball. If, after applying reasonable judgment, it is known or virtually certain that the ball has come to rest in one of those areas but both are equally likely, the player must take penalty relief under Rule 17."

 

That Int suggests one has to take the more severe option of the possible two, so in your case if you cannot tell (= have KVC) your ball is lost in the PA then it is OB.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

13 hours ago, antip said:

I suggest your "ONLY way" comment is too restrictive. The neighbouring properties are OB regardless of what the Committee has done, they are outside the boundary of the course - that is a legal rather than a Committee marking issue. But if a Committee hasn't made clear where the edge is then it is left to the player's own devices to make the call, which is very undesirable and irresponsible of the Committee. Neighbours are sometimes helpful, building big fences, employing vicious dogs etc, etc.

The neighboring properties are not OB unless defined as OB by the committee. I’m not sure where you’re getting that information from. In the ROG, there is no mention of property lines. 
 

Here is the definition of OB:

“All areas outside the boundary edge of the course as defined by the Committee.”

 

And here is the definition of COURSE:

“The entire area of play within the edge of any boundaries set by the Committee:”

 

If the committee has not set the boundaries, all the world is in play. Your ball can never be OB unless the committee has defined the course boundaries. 
 

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

36 minutes ago, Augster said:

The neighboring properties are not OB unless defined as OB by the committee. I’m not sure where you’re getting that information from. In the ROG, there is no mention of property lines. 
 

Here is the definition of OB:

“All areas outside the boundary edge of the course as defined by the Committee.”

 

And here is the definition of COURSE:

“The entire area of play within the edge of any boundaries set by the Committee:”

 

If the committee has not set the boundaries, all the world is in play. Your ball can never be OB unless the committee has defined the course boundaries. 
 

 

 

You are absolutely correct ruleswise but I suppose antip means those areas are not to be played from and should be treated as OB as there is no way they could be part of the course.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

9 hours ago, Mr. Bean said:

 

What you said in your post CANNOT be a Local Rule. Penalty Area CANNOT extend to infinity outside the boundaries of the course, it ends where the course ends.

 

 

The below is from the USGA rules. In fact the PA can extend to infinity (theoretically) as far as golf play. 

 

 

image.png.b5c3a79e92732cbc62b99cbdedf3e87f.png

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

12 minutes ago, szaino said:

 

The below is from the USGA rules. In fact the PA can extend to infinity (theoretically) as far as golf play. 

 

 

image.png.b5c3a79e92732cbc62b99cbdedf3e87f.png

 

You still do not get it, do you?

 

A Penalty Area CANNOT continue to infinity if there is a course boundary PREVENTING IT.

 

In other words, beyond the boundaries of the course THERE ARE NO PENALTY AREAS.

 

Geeez...

 

Edited by Mr. Bean
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Mr. Bean said:

 

You still do not get it, do you?

 

A Penalty Area CANNOT continue to infinity if there is a course boundary PREVENTING IT.

 

In other words, beyond the boundaries of the course THERE ARE NO PENALTY AREAS.

 

Geeez...

 

 

You are technically correct in what you say above, but the committee is allowed to redefine what might legally be off course property as a penalty area, and, in effect not out of bounds, and this PA extends to infinity (as far as golf is concerned). 

 

Isn't this exactly what this is saying?

 

 

image.png.b5232a887cf0a2b69614ab2248f4dd7c.png

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
       
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #1
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #2
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #3
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Tuesday #4
      2022 FedEx St Jude Championship - Wednesday #1
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
       Marc Leishman - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Jhonattan Vegas - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Scottie Scheffler - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Jon Rahm - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cam Smith - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Justin Thomas - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cameron Young - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Collin Morikawa - WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Rory McIlroy - mini WITB - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
       
      New Ping putters - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Aaron Wise's new Cameron putter - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      New Odyssey putters - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      New Odyssey putter covers - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cameron Masterful+ & Timeless+ - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      Cameron T-12 prototype - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
      New Softspike Tour Flex Pro spike - 2022 FedEx St Jude Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 4 replies
    • 2022 Wyndham Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comment here
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2022 Wyndham Championship - Monday #1
      2022 Wyndham Championship - Monday #2
      2022 Wyndham Championship - Monday #3
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
       
      Mac McGirt (Will's son) - WITB - 2022 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
      Pullout albums
       
       
      Cameron putters - 2022 Wyndham Championship
      Odyssey/Toulon putters - 2022 Wyndham Championship
      New Cameron Custom Shop putter covers - 2022 Wyndham Championship
      Axis 1 - 2022 Wyndham Championship
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 5 replies
    • 2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB & Photos- Links and discussion here
      Please put and questions or comments here 
       
       
      General Albums
       
       
      2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic - Monday #1
      2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic - Monday #2
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
       
      Ben Cook - WITB - Michigan PGA Section Champ - 2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
       
      Cameron putters - 2022 Rocket Mortgage Classic
       
       
       
       

       
        • Like
      • 9 replies
    • Post in PING G430 - Are They Finally Going Back to a Carbon Fiber Crown?
      So this was lurking on the USGA conforming clubs site... would be nice to see a a view from address.
       
        • Thanks
        • Like
    • 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews: WITB & Equipment Photos- Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
       
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Sunday #1
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Sunday #2
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #1
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #2
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #3
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #4
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #5
      2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course - Monday #6
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
       
      Srixon staff bags - 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Mizuno 221 "Blue" irons - 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Titleist 150th golf balls - 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Justin Thomas testing a Titleist T200 2-iron: 150th Open Championship
      Mito Pereira testing a Ping i525 3iron for 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      TaylorMade's 2022 Open Championship staff bag??
      Callaway staff golf bags for the 2022 The Open Championship @ St Andrews Old Course
      Titleist's 2022 Open Championship bag???
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 22 replies

×
×
  • Create New...