2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Why would I want to 'grow the game'?

memberguest

8 hours ago, memberguest said:

I dont understand all this growing the game talk. I am not a pro golfer depending on ratings to make more money. I am not a golf company trying to sell more equipment. I know why those groups want to grow the game.

Where I live (in SoCal), the courses are crowded. With younger people. And there isn't much space to build new courses. So growing the game actually seems negative. As golf just gets more crowded. Interestingly, the recent growth of the game hasn't lowered prices either. So courses are more crowded and more expensive.

Yes it's a wonderful sport and I'm happy to introduce to friends here and there and share that joy. But "growing the game" beyond that. Who cares? Seems net negative actually.

But as you can see this post is a question. What am I missing? Why would I want to grow the game? Why are all these random amateur golfers talking about doing things and supporting things that grow the game?

You're only looking at it from an enduser/customer/golfer perspective.  In perhaps the best of worlds you want:  easy access? good conditions? fast pace of play? affordable price?   But none of that comes without many golfers a day who play your course.  Without the money that they can predictably spend - a business can't maintain, improve, invest to make your personal experience better.

This is nothing more than a typical business life-cycle.  Without growth you have maturity of an industry causing things to contract or stagnate...and then decline - resulting in a worse experience for customers.