2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

Tall-er guys and putter length. Talk to me !

bladehunter

Wondering how putter length relates to your pw length ?     Specifically 6-0 to 6-4 ish guys.      Also wonder age.  

im working on a hunch.  And that hunch is.  That putter length should be close to wedge length assuming you don’t have a super hunched over putting stance .  And that length may increase for age due to posture change  because of flexibility etc. afterall. Reaching the ball is reaching the ball. Yes ?  

not making a statement. I’m just curious how many tall guys have over length   irons and above 35 inch putters?  Or does it not correlate? 

Callaway epic max LS 9* GD-M9003 7x 

TM Sim2 max tour  16* GD  ADHD 8x 

srixon zx 19* elements 9F5T 

Cobra king SZ 25.5* KBS TD cat 5 70 

TM p7mc 5-pw Mmt125tx 

Mizuno T22 raw 52-56-60 s400

LAB Mezz Max armlock 

I'm 62 now.  I started playing some 30 yrs. ago.  I'm 6'3" and I have played most of my iron sets at +1" since my first fitting in the 90's. 

I started out playing a 35" putter. I switched to a 34" putter a few yrs. after taking up the game and I have played a 34" putter ever since. As a matter of fact I still use my Ping putter I bought in 2004. I choke up on the shaft when I putt so I play it even shorter. My friend has the same putter in 33" and I like that a lot but using a 34" and gripping down the shaft feels more balanced to me.

I have a bad back so playing longer irons has always helped my back. Playing a shorter putter has never bothered my back.

The only change I have made to my putter is that I had to put a ball pick tool on the end of the grip a few yrs. ago.. I have a hard time  bending over and picking the ball out of the hole.

• Like 1

I'm 6 ft 1 in, and recently switched to a 35 in putter.

Although I always preferred a shorter putter (33-34 inches) I've found that as I get older my back was really starting to hurt especially if I spent more than 10-15 minutes on the putting green.