Wedge setup with 42 degree PW?

CheddarBob

I apologize if this is a repeated question.

I recently got a set of Cobra LTDx irons which have very strong lofts. I am currently trying to pick out some wedges to fit my setup. I am fairly new to golf so I was only going to buy a GW and SW. With the Cobra PW being 42 degrees, I was considering getting a 48 and 54 degree wedge set. I have been reading online though and a lot of people are saying the 56 is a better choice for new golfers because you can make the ball stop faster on the greens. 

Any recommendations?

3 hours ago, CheddarBob said:

I recently got a set of Cobra LTDx irons which have very strong lofts. I am currently trying to pick out some wedges to fit my setup. I am fairly new to golf so I was only going to buy a GW and SW. With the Cobra PW being 42 degrees, I was considering getting a 48 and 54 degree wedge set. I have been reading online though and a lot of people are saying the 56 is a better choice for new golfers because you can make the ball stop faster on the greens. 

Any recommendations?

Since your PW is so low loft, you probably need 3 to 4 wedges for proper gapping. Something like 46-50-54-58 or 47-52-57 or 46-52-58. 

• Like 2

As a beginner, a 48° and 54° will do you for the first season or so. This will give you 6° gaps between wedges, which is manageable.

A 58° lob wedge could probably wait until season 2. An LW is a bit different to hit, a close-in specialty club; there are better uses for your practice time in early going.

A 58° although only 4° higher loft than a 54°, but don't worry about it. It's more stable for many than a 60°. Plus, most don't use a LW for full-swing shots.

2 hours ago, CheddarBob said:

...a lot of people are saying the 56 is a better choice for new golfers because you can make the ball stop faster on the greens. 

Also, be careful of two-paragraph golf tips from here and there. How quickly the ball stops depends on: