What makes a golf course and a golf hole excellent to you?

I'm a current MLA student (Masters of Landscape Architecture), and really playing with the idea of getting into golf course architecture (a big task on its own, I know). 

I want to start a conversation about what makes a golf course, and any given golf hole, excellent to you. 

Golf is many things to different people, so I'm expecting what makes a golf course and a golf hole great to one person different to the next. In my eyes, a key challenge of golf course architecture is distilling down what makes a golf hole and ultimately a golf course excellent for different players, and creating a golf hole that is excellent to a wide variety of golfers and skillsets. 

Curious to hear your thoughts on what you consider to be an exceptional golf course, with specific hole examples, and why it is excellent in your eyes as a player. 

• Thanks 1

To be honest, it's been my experience that golfers are more apt to remember BAD holes, which are usually those that possess some strange or otherwise abnormal feature that disrupts play. 

I don't think there's really a definition of what's "good." There are easy holes, hard holes, picturesque holes, holes that are long or short, etc. People usually acknowledge those for what they are. They all have their place. 

But golfers usually spend the majority of time focusing on and complaining about the bad holes . So try to avoid designing any of those, LOL. 🙂

Edited by MelloYello
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

TSR3 (Dr) (Graphite Design Tour AD IZ-6)
TSR2 (3w / 7w) (Graphite Design Tour AD IZ-7)

zU85 (4-6) (UST Recoil)
Z-Forged (7-P) (Nippon Modus3)

SM6 50.F / 56.F / 60.S
Maltby PTM-5CS

3 minutes ago, MelloYello said:

To be honest, it's been my experience that golfers are more apt to remember BAD holes, which are usually those that possess some strange or otherwise abnormal feature that disrupts play.