Considering One Length

I've been playing golf for about 2 years and have struggled with 9i and PW being uncomfortable due to my height. I also struggle with 4i and 5i to get clean connections as I'm not the best at getting my setup correct. My mates a good golfer and tells me to suck it up but it's annoying when my 7i is so pure. Thus came the conversation with my coach that I could have a look at one length. I'm a bit hesitant to jump straight in with a fully custom set for something I may not get on with. If I buy a second hand set and then have the lie adjusted to my 2* upright I currently play, with stiff shafts at 37.5 length (same as my 7i) will this work for now? Or with OL do you really need the full fitting to reap all the benefits.

• Like 1

On global golf you can trial a set of one length cobras iron sets for $75.
Note: lie angles are weird on cobras iron sets. 

• Like 1

Driver 9* Mavrik Max Evenflow Riptide 50 Stiff

7 wood 21* Cobra F7 Kuro Kage Silver 80 x-stiff

3, 4, 5 King Utility ONE Elevate 95 Stiff
6-9: TEE C721 Elevate 95 Stiff

43/8*, 48/9* CBX Zipcore DG Spinner 115

54/12*, 58/8* ES21 KBS Hi-rev 2.0 115

2 Ball Blade

I wouldn't suggest directly adjust angles based on your current set, One Length doesn't really work like that. I've played a cobra set with their stock angles, i've made 2 sets with different lies that didn't need adjusting.

I'm assuming you are taller than 6ft ? What kind of issues are you having with the 9 and P ?

Many people struggle to hit long irons at the best of times, so don't directly think that One Length is the solution.

The next problem people face is that they do not have enough speed to make the long irons work in One length. recommend you have over 90mph iron swing speed before you try long iron One Length.

The other side effect of OL is hitting your 9 and P too long and your 7 and above become very clustered at the same yardage and don't have sufficient gapping.