NEW to golf - Cincinnati - what courses should I play?

soulfd76

Hey everyone. I am new to this website, and actually fairly new to the game of golf. I started playing last year, borrowing clubs, and only played 3 times at the very end of the summer. I enjoyed it so much, I went out and purchased clubs about 2 weeks ago. I've been to the range, and I'm ready to start playing some courses.

so....my question is where should I play. I want the course to be nice, but really, since I'm inexperienced, I'm looking at more quantity over quality. I live on the East Side of Cincinnati, but work downtown. Thanks for the help!

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

On the east side, I have played Stonelick Hills...it is a great new course at a decent price. My favorite course in the Cincy area is Belterra (which is actually in Indiana along the river). It is a fantastic layout and if I remember right, you can play for around $50 after 2:00.

Lassing Pointe in Northern Kentucky is another good layout around $49 and Shaker Run near Lebanon won't disappoint either.

• 2 months later...

YOu are lucky and not so lucky. Cincinnati has a lot of affordable, decent golf, but really is devoid of an upscale, inspiring daily fee course. Shaker Run is probably the BEST near Cincinnati.

There are a lot worth playing:

Deer Run CC (semi private)

Legendary Run

Vineyard

Sharon Woods

Elks Run

Stonelick (way overrated and overpriced IMO)

Glenview

Fairfield

Miami Whitewater

Just north of Cincinnati, try Majestic Springs

Most of the better courses are private around here. Many of the clubs are hurting for members and are really not all that expensive to join....

Titleist TSi2 10* Driver Tensei Blue 55S
TM Sim2 Max 16.5* 3 wood Tensei Blue 60S

TM SIM2 Titanium 5 Wood Tensei Blue 65S

TM SIM2 MAx 4 Hybrid Ventus Stiff shaft
Ping G410 5-UW Alta Graphite Shafts
Vokey SM8 56* sand wedge, Vokey SM9 60* lob wedge