I searched the archives and didn't get a hit.

How many of you dry clean your golf polos and can you tell the difference in how long the colors stay bright?

My last bunch of Ralph Lauren Polos didn't fare so well with my washing them at home. I used Woolite and cold water on the delicate setting and they still faded pretty quickly.

In the Polos defense, I play everyday and they spend a lot of time in the sun.

My question is based on the fact that I just bought 10 new Polos and I am hoping to keep these looking good for at least this season. Any suggestions welcome since these shirts are not that cheap.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have a two prong answer for you and hopefully it will help.

1. I usually washed my shirts when I was a pro (I got them for free) and they did not fair well. Usually lasted about a season and faded, collars got worked, etc. I would not recommend this if you were trying to keep shirts looking nice and new.

2. A good friend of mine in FLA always got his shirts dry cleaned and they lasted for ever. Granted he had a plethora of shirts to choose from and did not wear the same shirt more than once every 2 weeks, but they lasted far longer, and looked much better than my shirts did over the same time. He also sweat way worse than I did.

I am not sure whether or not that will work for you, but if I had the cash and was trying to keep my shirts in good shape and good order, I would have them dry cleaned just like my dress shirts.

Driver: TM M4 Tour Issue
3W: TM M5 tour issue
Hybrid: Adams LSP
Irons: Srixon Z785
54, 58 Callaway Mack Daddy 4
Putter: PXG Gunboat