Why can't I play a blade?

expunge

Good beginner blade?
So I've been giving my NDS irons a run for a few months now. It was the first set of irons I purchased after getting back into golf and I went from having no handicap to now having a 12 (in 3 months). I have rounds anywhere from 79 to 85 and am a pretty good ball striker. I do especially well around the greens with chipping and putting. From 100 in I have all the confidence in the world I will 1 putt.

So enough of my background there. I went out to play the other day and was watching a kid at the end of the range hit his Titleist 690 somethings a mile high in the air and landing them nice and soft on the green. I asked him if I could hit a few shots with his 6 iron. While definitely a different feel, I was doing quite well hitting them. I could really feel where the ball was going to go and where I hit it on the clubface. With my NDS I just aim and go, really nothing to it. If I need to draw it, I draw it, fade, fade it. Really no big deal. I just can't feel it like I want to.

My question is, why can't I play blades? Everyone says they are for LOW handicappers. 10 and under. I think my game would benefit from some sort of blade or perhaps new shafts or something on my NDS. I play the stock uniflex shafts. What is a good blade to start out on? I was thinking the Bridgestone j33b's or the Nike forged as I can get a decent set on eBay for 200-300 bucks. I don't mind spending a few hundred dollars to drop a few shots here and there. Are the Minuno mp60's my answer?

Was that just all over the place? I guess I would just like to know what blades I could use starting out as a new blade owner and maybe work myself up.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If you're shooting 79-85 you're already a LOW handicap (5-8) according to the USGA.

I would avoid the J33B's, they've got a long hosel and very high center of gravity. They are VERY difficult to hit for a modern msucle back.