2024 RBC Heritage WITB photos ×

What is your "blade story"?

williamo

Good evening,

I am having a hard time deciding whether to keep my blades or not. I really love how they look and how they feel but is it worth it? Let's start by saying I've been playing golf for 3 years and I am OK at golf. I shoot in the mid 70's and love the game. My shortgame is the strongest part of my game and driving and irons are pretty equal. I've been playing the AP2 710's for 2 years and I really liked them but now I felt that I wanted anything new and funnier. So I got a great deal on a beautiful set of Titelist MB's and couldn't pass. I really like how it feels standing over a blade 3 iron. I get the feeling that I can do everything with them, pure awesomeness.

Yesterday when I was playing I hit my irons pretty good, on hole number 5 I hit a 5 iron so crisp that I could not believe it and it felt amazing. The ball stopped right next to the pin. On hole number 6, par 3 downhill, I hit an ok 6iron, just a bit off center and it came up 15 yards short and straight into the bunker. This is when it started... That one would have been just short of the pin with the AP2's...

On hole number 13, toughest hole on the course, 202 yards to the pin and the wind in our face. This green is surrounded with a big waterhazzard in the front of the green and a HUGE bunker that you DON'T want to hit into because the green is tight on that side. I hit a PERFECT 3 iron, must have been the best 3iron in my whole life. It just crushed the wind with a small draw and stopped 1,5 meter from the pin. Holed the putt, birdie. On the next hole I get into some trouble and that leaves me with 172 yards. I hit a PERFECT 6iron with a small draw and it stops about 2 meters from the pin, birdie.