How to become a scratch golfer?

redhead

I was wondering, is it so unbelievable difficult to reach the last part of this quest? Does it need daily training for instance. Is it lack of time, age factor, swing speed, physical build, mental, etc. Why this so small but important difference exist in your play?

A bit about me: I'm 30 years old now. I've been playing more than 3 years. I started playing relatively late. I regularly shoot low 80s, a couple times high 70s. I play on the weekend (depend on the weather) and doing practice/drill everyday at home.

So to the other scratch players out there, how long do you think it would take me to get to a scratch or somewhat close? Do you have any advice on shooting scratch golf?

Im not scratch but im on the same quest as you. Currently im an 11 because I cant hit fairways and I cant putt to save my life. I hit my driver long but I never know where its going. If I go to a wide open course where I can play from adjacent fairways I can shoot a low number on occasion, but mostly I struggle with driver control and it balloons my scores. Look at your game and honestly review it and find your biggest flaw and work continuously on it til you get it under control. Your scores will drop fast. GL

Given your work rate and the progress you've made, I might suggest with some more hard work you could potentially make it in 4-5 years.

The standard "It's different for everyone blah blah" caveats apply, obvs.

I'd say nail the short game area if you have access to it. That's where most of the hard work is done. If you can promise yourself that you will not miss a putt from 3 feet, that's a good standard to aim for whilst practicing. Chipping becomes a gift when you know 3 feet is all you need. But try to hole every one (or rather know that you will - see Bob Rotella and the story of the basketball player).