2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Too much movement?!

Swing review
Hey,

have been playing for about 20 months and am totally addicted! :) Mostly self taught Im playing around an 18 handicap. Have played several 9 holes stretches around +4-6 over but never a good full 18!
Just struggling with overall consistency. Distance is not the issue. I usually try and analyze one part of my swing and work on it till im content with it then move on.

7 iron:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YBd1fICIGk4&feature=youtu.be

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wj8COyno5z8&feature=youtu.be

Would REAAALLY appreciate any input! Just by the look of it, it seems like my body is just moving way too much.. especially my hips on the DS. Would shortening my BS make the swing look smoother?
really interested in some outisde opinions!

thx alot in advance!

• Replies 2
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

the good news is that you're swinging exactly the way you're rehearsing. the bad news is that you're rehearsing an armsy, swaying, stuck golf swing.

your biggest two issues are swaying your hips to the right in the backswing and standing up
and then early extension/not turning deep in the throughswing....which is likely the result of trying to 'drop the club' inside and swing in-to-out....because as amatuers its what all the golf instruction tells us to do, to avoid a slice. you can see you really dive that right shoulder under you and it basically crashes against your ribs. and then in order to make contact with the ball you gotta thrust your hips straight at the target instead of turning around a pivot point with a deep left hip (which is what actually creates room to swing)

visually...