Finding Your Swing for the First Time

How did you know?
Let me explain ("No, there is too much, let me sum up.")

Think back to when you first started playing.

I started playing a few months ago and I have been taking lessons every 2-3 weeks with a great instructor.

I have been battling all sorts of swing flaws - blocking, scooping, slicing, hooking, etc. But about 2 weeks ago, everything seemed to come together (at least as far as my irons are concerned). For whatever reason, I just "got it"* and my swing has been fairly consistent ever since - I am hitting it straight and my distance, while relatively short, is also very consistent. I feel like I've found my swing.

My question is this: Did anyone else experience this and, if so, did it last?

In other words, can I go pick out some decent irons (instead of my starter kit) based on this swing?

*oddly enough, I remember the exact moment and the exact swing on which it happened. I was swinging like crap as usual - topping, chunking, slicing, etc. And before the next swing I recall thinking "Hit down on the ball you idiot!!!" - which, of course, I had thought to myself a million time before. But for some reason, it worked this time.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

In order of priority

1. Contact

2. Ball flight

3. carry

4. ball reaction on the green.

5. when all else, fails, see BALL FLIGHT.

this tells you how your contact is.

GET VIDEO. You will think "i got it" then take 1 or 2 days off and it will be gone!! why do you think most pros hit balls EVERYDAY!! they don't want to lose "IT".

good luck

Glad to hear that your swing is come along good. And like raidernut said get video, its the best thing you can do as far as fixing your swing goes. I myself can't say I have gotten my swing to click yet but its getting there.