2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

More consistency and less back strain with power?

Hey all,

I'm new to the forum. I started playing golf when I was a boy just hitting balls around the yard and watching the golf channel to learn how to do it.

Anyway, I've recenlty gotten hooked on this game again and started playing more frequently. I believe I strike the ball well, but am pretty inconsistent in doing so. Also, my back starts hurting after a few full swings. Its not bad, but I want to fix the issue before it becomes serious.

Ultimately I want to start playing in some local tournaments. I miss competion and I think golf can fill that void for me.

Thanks for looking!

Edit: hitting a 3i in the vids

[media=]

[/media]

[media=]

[/media]

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Shortening my backswing has lessened the back pain. It has been difficult to do it consistently though and as soon as I forget to do it I feel the pain. I also feel like I'm more explosive and consistent of a ball striker with a shorter swing which is quite a nice benefit. I'll try to get a vid up to compare as soon as I'm out on the range with my buddies, probably will not be until next week though.

I've also noticed I'm flexing the shaft a bit too much maybe, and am thinking I need stiffer iron shafts. I'm not sure what the specs are at the moment, I just know they are regular flex steel shafts. Looks like I need to do some homework on different shafts.

If its ok with the mods I'd like to use this thread as sort of a golf diary to keep track of my swing.

Cheers

I went to the range today to work on lateral hip movement like in this drill.
[media=]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJOywpFGzUA[/media]
I also kept my shortened backswing and added more hip bend at address. I hit a full bucket and have 0 back pain! I also hit a lot more balls flush. My biggest issue seems to be taking a consistent swing path.