2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

I've made some big changes - what's next?

Dent

Hey guys. Long time lurker but amateur poster. I've been playing golf since I was about 7 years old and really had a peak when I was about 14-16. I'm 23 and my game is hardly improving anymore as I've stayed around a 4 handicap for the past 2-3 years. I'm a huge mental nutcase and my problem is my swing feels different every day, like I don't have a repeatable swing most specifically on the downswing.

This was my position at the top at the beginning of the year. I had zero body/hip turn and always got away with it until this year. Here was my swing in May

https://vimeo.com/130352695

156910fbd3ae5f1bbb5a86a4e2f0aee8.jpg

Now. After working at it myself I've turned it to this:

c2a9fee130911918020249771d367dcb.jpg

Here is my swing now. My most common miss now is a high or low push fade that either looks like a shank or a high 30 yard miss. Part of it could be I'm using XStiff shafts that really feel too stiff for me but I don't know. I've got the hip turn almost figured out. I just have to hit more greens, I have huge troubles with alignment (shoulda posted a DTL video) and usually have to step back during every shot to reposition myself.

https://vimeo.com/130352382

What's next? Any comments or. Critique is appreciated!

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Looks pretty good, nice swing.

One thing I notice right away is your take away. This may be something unique to yourself that works for you, but that little forward press move and then the immediate takeaway with the hands, is too handsy in my opinion

I'd like to see you have a smooth, one piece takeaway combining a slight weight shift back, and turning of hips/shoulders together. Starting the swing off that handsy makes things more difficult for you.

[quote name='straightshot7' timestamp='1434005275' post='11730380']Looks pretty good, nice swing.