Jimmie Austin Golf Course - University of Oklahoma

golfernut78

Norman, Oklahoma
Jimmie Austin Golf Course is the on campus golf course for the University of Oklahoma in Norman, Oklahoma. as a OU grad, i could be a little bias on the course, but i will do my best not to be.

- clubhouse:
i would use the term clubhouse loosely. its honestly not much to look at. however what it lacks in style and size it makes up for with the friendly service. i've played this course many times over the last few years (didn't play golf when i was in college) and have always had great service.

one nice little treat at the course is the carts. while they don't have gps, that have the most comfortable seats and the seat backs have lumbar suppurt too. was pretty cool, and OU fans will enjoy is that the carts are numbered and named after OU athletes and coaches. i've watched people race for billy simms or one of the selmon brothers carts. pretty cool stuff.

- facilities:
super super huge driving range. easy to find a spot that is not torn up. they don't have club stands, which i am not sure how i feel about. i don't take my bag down to the hitting area so i had to leave my clubs on the ground, but at the same time, its not so cluttered. the range is also lit for those late afternoons or nights. there is a small short game area with a bunker. its decent, but stands away from everything. its on the otherside of the parking lot from the range, practice green and the 1st tee. the practice green is monster. super huge and covered in pins. plenty of pins to give you a number of different putts and not worry about other players in your way.

- course: