2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Re-Learning the Golf Grip

Back to Square One!
So, I've finally decided to do what I have been avoiding for many, many years - I'm re-learning the golf grip, right from square one.

When I first started golfing at age 4, I used a baseball grip (common for young kids starting out). Then one day, on the range, a kind old gentleman taught me how to grip the club with my thumb underneath my lower hand, aka the 10 finger grip. I've been using that one ever since. I've never really had a huge problem with my golf game until lately, so I've decided that now is the time to take the next step and move to the overlap. I had tried it in the past, but it never felt comfortable, so I always ditched it to go back to my old habits.

Yesterday's range session consisted of EVERY shot being hit with the overlap grip. I was not going to let myself take any swings without doing so. After a while, it started to feel a little bit more comfortable, and even more so by the end of the session.

One thing that I am noticing, is that the muscles between my pinky and ring finger on my left hand are quite sore, and I'm pretty sure that's just because they are not at all used to gripping the club in that fashion, and I'm hoping that will subside over the next week or two.

I'm just wondering if anyone else has undergone this type of grip transformation? How did it work for you?

Callaway Rogue ST Max LS w/Tensei Orange // Callaway Epic Flash 3W w/GD Tour AD IZ-7 // Adams Idea Pro a12 w/UST VTS //

Callaway X Forged 2018 5-PW w/PX Catalyst 100 // Callaway JAWS MD5 50* 54* 58* & Full Toe 64* w/PX Catalyst 80 // Odyssey O-Works #7 Tank 38"

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 2 weeks later...