2024 CJ Cup Byron Nelson WITB Photos ×

Turning Pro

A little OT..but I have searched high and low for an well rounded answer to this question: What entails turning professional?

From reading the rules, it seems like all you have to do is say, "Hey, Im a pro" and accept money for play, teaching etc. That is a highly informal standard. It also seems to say that if by some miracle I got invited to a NW or PGA event I could just check the "professional" box if I so should choose. Or if I applied for the US Open, I could claim professioanal status if I so should choose. Secondly, if this is the case, is a professional required to keep and report a USGA index for the purposes of playing in events. IMO there should be a more formal process, maybe there is and I just don't know. Am I out in the woods on this one?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There will be better answers, but my understanding is that for purposes of playing tournaments for prize money, all you need to do is declare that you are a professional. The difficulty, of course, is qualifying or getting invited to play in tournaments with large purses. As for the mini tour events where everyone is basically paying an entry fee and the top finishers split the pot, I think you simply need to declare that you are a professional.

However, to be a official (PGA) teaching professional, you will need to pass both a written test and an on-course test (which requires you to shoot about 150 for two rounds).

For open qualifying events (e.g., US Open), I believe you need to be a recognized teaching professional to enter based on professional status. Otherwise, you need the required handicap index.

Once a pro becomes an official teaching professional, he or she need not carry and official handicap (although they may do so).

Best I can do.

the first gentlemans answer about turning pro was exact you just have to declare the intention, or take money for something involving golf.