2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

Which GPS to go with?!

I am really having a tough time deciding on which GPS to upgrade to. I have been using a GolfLogix for a few years but am now looking for more functionality including graphics. So I go back and forth looking at all of the reviews and comments. I easily narrowed it down to 3: the SGX, the GolfBuddy Platinum, or possibly the UPro. But given everything I see out there all have pluses and minuses. I wish the decision could be easier by one clearly standing out! With the long term history SkyCaddie has and now that they have finally (hopefully) resolved most of their issues with the SGX I am leaning toward that one. Any help would be appreciated! I may end up just waiting a bit longer for the next versions of these units and keep using my existing unit. Thanks in advance folks.

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I would include the garmin Approach G5 in your search. I've owned all the skycaddies (except the SGX), and I like the G5 better. I really like the touch screen functionality along with the all the courses loaded on the unit.

Titleist 913D2 9.5 Aldila RIP 70x
Titleist 913F 15 Diamana 82 s
Titleist 913H 17 Phenom x
Titleist 714 CB 3-9 X100
Titleist Scotty Cameron Newport 2
Titleist Vokey Raw Black SM5 46, 54, 58

I love and use the Bushnell XGC. Here are some reasons why:

[b]Price
XGC
Unit Cost[/b]: $249.99
[b]1 yr membership/100 courses[/b] (Whichever happens 1st): $35
[b]Total for 1st year: $285[/b][b]

SGX[/b]
Unit Cost: $400
1st year: $60 (US with Maps)
[b]Total for 1st year: $460[/b]

[b]Golf Buddy Platinum [/b]
[b]Unit Cost/total cost: $400[/b]
No additional fees

[b]Membership[/b]
XGC- You own any courses you download (I can get 100 in the first year and I am set for life)
SGX- $60 a year for life of product (Yr1-$460, Yr2-$520, Yr3-$580)
GBPlat- $0 (This is nice)

[b]Size
XGC- [/b]Smallest
[b]SGX[/b]- Largest
[b]GBPlat[/b]- Middle (Kinda bulky)