2024 PGA Championship WITB Photos ×

Titleist NXT Tour/Extreme Balls Review

staff@thesandtrap.com

Unless you've been hiding under a rock the past few weeks, you've probably seen quite a bit of Ian MacCallister expound on the evil virtues of Titleist's new NXT Tour and NXT Extreme golf balls. While the ads are quite humorous, Titleist seemed to be quite serious in giving the NXT line a facelift, which is pretty impressive since the older versions both were rated Gold on Golf Digest's 2007 Hot List.

I've been using the first generation of the NXT Tour for the past several years. The original NXT Tour was a good all-around ball, and I didn't have to worry quite so much about losing them as I would a $5 ball. They were, in short, a great blend of value and performance. They were also quite durable… and durability matters when you scrape your ball around the trees and off the cart paths. My only real complaint with the original NXT Tour was how soft it felt off the putter.

I couldn't ever quite used to the feel with the putter, so I often played the Pro V1. I was quite happy to hear that Titleist was revamping the NXT line. I hoped Titleist would push the performance levels to get closer to the new Pro V1 line. If the NXT Tour was once the Pro V1's distant cousin, I hoped the updates would make it play more like the Pro V1's kid brother.

Would the new NXT Tour prompt me to switch back? Read on to see if the allure of a premium ball was too much or if the value and performance offered by the new NXT Tour and NXT Extreme defeated silly pride for this 15-handicapper.

Design and Technology

The revised Pro V1 and Pro V1x were the first Titleist balls without a seam with the "Staggered Wave Parting Line." The updated Pro V1 line also added an "A.I.M." aiming line (the "Alignment Integrated Marking" line). Both the Staggered Wave and the A.I.M. line have made the leap to the NXT.