Jump to content

Knocked the Ball Off the Tee While Addressing it....


Recommended Posts

Ever seen a pro do it??
Just got back from a round of golf with some buddies. We were playing for lunch and a drink. I was 1 up on 18, and while addressing the ball, I did the unthinkable. I knocked the ball off the tee while positioning by club behind the ball. I then hit 3 wood off the box, and knocked a wedge stiff for a par and the win.

This got me thinking........

I cannot remember the last time that I saw a professional player do this...

Anybody remember.....??

Or for that matter anybody have any stories about when they did it??

Cheers,

Brad
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

actually that is technically incorrect. when recording an incorrect score the rule is that if you sign for a score that is higher than your actual score you are screwed you are stuck with the higher score however you are not disqualified, and you do not lose the hole. you are only penalized when you sign for a score that is lower than your actual score...its then and only then that you are DQ'ed. Thats what happened to jesper or someone on tour, they signed for a score that was too high and it end up costing them bc it was by one or two shots higher. no penalty but youre stuck with the higher score.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Nice Birdie!!

 

Huh....really..??

 

I should probably read that rukes book my wife stuffed in my stocking year christmas...

 

Don't I look dumb....

 

Thanks again guys!!

 

:idhitit: :crazy: :crazy:

Titleist TS3 Even Flow 75X
Taylor Made M2 Tour 3HL Kuro Kage
Titleist 718 TMB 3-5 Project X PXi 6.0
Adams A4 Tour 6-W DG X100
Cleveland RTX 2 52, 56
Brodgestone Prototype 60
Taylor Made Spider Tour Red

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 2 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

If you hit the ball during a practice swing, you MUST replace the ball while adding one penalty stroke to your score. It sucks, I know.. but it's the rules. Any other questions, jsut ask.

 

 

If it is on the tee, you can retee it without any penalty. The ball is not in play, so there is no penalty for knocking it off during a practice swing. If there was a penalty, then there would also be a penalty for knocking the ball off the tee when you set up to.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

On the Tee (ball not in play):

Rule 18-2a/19, player did not make a "stroke" at the ball, and since it was not in play is allowed to retee the ball with no penality.

 

Now if he/she is in the fairway and makes a practice stroke and hits the ball, no penality for the stroke, and replaces the ball (rule 18-2a/20) but incurs a penality for moving the ball in play (rule 18-2a)

 

Crazy rules, should just state that you get a penality for hitting the ball (in play) even if accidently. :kewlpics:

 

So the moral of the story is, when you practice your swing, make sure you are well away from it so that you do influence it!

 

Ken

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Very true. In the rule book you will find the definition of a stroke. A practice swing on the tee does not count as one. If you hit it anytime after you leave the tee though, it is a different story. Is that case you do receive a penalty and must replace the ball.

 

'you do receive a penalty and must replace the ball.'

 

I never understood this rule...I was aware of it, but it just doesnt make sense! Why wouldnt you just count the practice swing hit as a shot and just play it from where it is? It would be pretty much the same thing as just duffing the ball 10 yards. Why do you hafta go back and replace it?

 

And also, dont feel too bad about it man, a lot of people dont know that you can re-tee if you knock it off. I remember when I first found out. It was one of my first highschool tournaments my freshman year, and everyone was at the first tee watching their teammates tee off. Someone did, and I remember a bunch of gasps and low mumbles as everyone thought that it counted as a shot...my coach just laughed and said 'Thats one, son..." But then he told him, and I found out the real ruling. It was pretty funny...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

The reason goes back to the definition of a stroke. You must be attempting to strike the ball. If you are not, it is not a stroke. In the case of moving the ball with a practice swint, you have caused the ball to move when not attempting to strike the ball (a stroke). This is a penalty and you must replace the ball even if it only moved an inch. If you were attempting a "stroke" and it moved, it is just a stroke.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
  • Our picks

    • 2023 Farmers Insurance Open - Discussion and Links to all photos
      Please put any questions or Comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
       
      2023 Farmers Insurance Open - Monday #1
      2023 Farmers Insurance Open - Monday #2
      2023 Farmers Insurance Open - Monday #3
       
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Justin Thomas - WITB - 2023 Farmers Insurance Open
      Will Zalatoris - WITB - 2023 Farmers Insurance Open
      Michael Herrera - WITB - 2023 Farmers Insurance Open
      Michael Block - SoCal PGA Section Champ - WITB - 2023 Farmers Insurance Open
      Carl Yuan - WITB - 2023 Farmers Insurance Open
      Joey Vrzich - WITB - 2023 Farmers Insurance Open
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      New Taylor-Made putters - 2023 Farmers Insurance Open
       
       
       
       
        • Like
      • 3 replies
    • 2023 The American Express - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comment here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2023 The American Express - Monday #1
      2023 The American Express - Monday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Justin Lower - WITB - 2023 The American Express
      Doug Ghim - WITB - 2023 The American Express
      Sam Burns - WITB - 2023 The American Express
      Caleb Surratt - WITB - 2023 The American Express
      Aaron Wise - WITB - 2023 The American Express
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
       
      New Cameron putter - 2023 The American Express
      Cameron putters - - 2023 The American Express
      New Bettinardi prototype putters - 2023 The American Express
      New L.A.B. Golf LINK.1 putter - 2023 The American Express
      New Evnroll putters - 2023 The American Express
      Jimmy Walker testing the Axis prototype putter - 2023 The American Express
      Cameron CT Baller Boy covers - 2023 The American Express
      Richy Werenski's Cameron Timeless putter - 2023 The American Express
      Graphite Design - CQ 6 & CQ 7 shafts - 2023 The American Express
      Titleist TRS hybrids - 2023 The American Express
       
       
       
       
       
       
       
      • 11 replies
    • In-hand photos of 2023 TaylorMade Stealth 2 Plus, Stealth 2, Stealth 2 HD drivers + fairways woods
      Check out our front page launch stories here and here. 
       
      What you need to know: For the first time, carbon is the most prevalent material by volume in a TaylorMade driver, and more carbon equals better performance, says the company. Last year, TaylorMade debuted a 60X Carbon Twist Face. With TaylorMade Stealth 2, engineers are bringing carbon to more of the golf club — and unveiling a new-and-improved Carbon Twist Face in the process. Stealth 2 Plus (low spin, most workable) Stealth 2, and Stealth 2 HD (draw bias, high launch, most forgiving) drivers make up the Stealth 2 family.
       
      Stealth 2 


       
      Stealth 2 Plus


       
      Stealth 2 HD



       
      What you need to know: Breakthrough movable weight technologies and versatile designs are the hallmarks of the 2023 TaylorMade Stealth 2 fairway woods. Stealth 2 Plus is branded as “three fairway woods in one” owing to the unique performance characteristics afforded by the 50-gram sole weight. Stealth 2 features a slightly lower profile 3D carbon crown than Stealth. This moves CG down and away from the toe with more weight in the rear of the club for higher launch and MOI. Ultra-high MOI Stealth 2 HD features an oversized 200cc head and low-profile sole, creating an easy-to-hit, draw-biased club.
       
      Stealth 2 fairway


       
      Stealth 2 Plus fairway


       
       


       
        • Like
      • 47 replies
    • 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions - Discussion
      Please put any equipment questions or comments here
       
      More albums will be added tomorrow
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions at Kapalua – Tues. Pt. 1
       
       
      WITB Albums
       
      Jon Rahm mini WITB (w/ new Callaway Paradym Triple Diamond driver and fairway woods) – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
      Ryan Brehm WITB – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      SuperStroke Limited Edition Hawaii Collection covers and grips – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
      Collin Morikawa's new TaylorMade Stealth 2 Plus driver and 3 wood – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
      Xander Schauffele's new Callaway Paradym Triple Diamond driver – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
      Xander Schauffele's Odyssey Toulon "XS Proto" mallet putter – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
      New Odyssey White Hot Versa and Tri-Hot 5K putters – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
      Sungjae Im's Scotty Cameron Tourtype F-5 proto putter (with new SuperStroke Zenergy 1.0 PT grip) – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
      Scottie Scheffler's new TaylorMade Stealth 2 Plus driver and Stealth 2 fairway wood – 2023 Sentry Tournament of Champions
       
       
       
       
       
       
       

       
      • 82 replies
    • 2022 PNC Championship - Discussion and Links
      Please put any questions or comments here
       
       
       
      General Albums
       
      2022 PNC Championship - Thursday
      2022 PNC Championship - Friday #1
      2022 PNC Championship - Friday #2
       
       
       
      WITB Albums 
       
      Nelly Korda - WITB - 2022 PNC Championship
      John Daly, II - WITB - 2022 PNC Championship
      Tiger Woods - WITB - 2022 PNC Championship
      Qass Singh - WITB - 2022 PNC Championship
      VJ Singh - WITB - 2022 PNC Championship
       
       
       
       
       
      Pullout Albums
       
      Tiger & Charlie - 2022 PNC Championship - #1
      Tiger & Charlie - 2022 PNC Championship #2
       
       
       
       
       
        • Haha
      • 28 replies

×
×
  • Create New...