2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

Gun bluing

TJK9787

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Just know that you're not going to get a true blue hue out of it because it's going to be a cold bluing. Hot bluing is where it's at, but it's also expensive. If you want a true blue hue that you can DIY, flaming the putter and stopping when it turns blue is going to be a better bet. Cold bluing produces more of a brown.

• 2 weeks later...

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Golfwrx - but a very avid and keen golfer.

Having recently purhcased my first scotty, I've been enthralled ever since.

A friend of mine is going to sell me one of his very old and worn scotties (its a newport) for about $50. I think its a steal, but it does need a lot of work on the head.

I have no experience at all with how to recondition a putter head - I'm 21 yrs old, and have never given it a try - but extensive googling and research, and I'm keen as mustard to now do it.

Just a qn about this bluing concept...If my putter head is completely rusted and has actually been tried to be painted over it, will bluing it magically fix all my problems?

Will it a) get rid of the rust
b)get rid of the paint
c) make it all gun metal black looking?

That being the case, what will happen to all the writing on the putter - will that become visible and clear - or will that too also turn black?

If it does turn black, then it doesnt make sense to me - because you would want the words "scotty cameron" to be showing visibly wouldnt you?

Sorry for all the qns, but I am really excited about this, and with your help, I think I've found another passion apart from hitting the golf course!!

Thanks

[quote name='ScottyMizuno' post='1979488' date='Sep 30 2009, 01:12 AM']Hi everyone,

I'm new to Golfwrx - but a very avid and keen golfer.

Having recently purhcased my first scotty, I've been enthralled ever since.