Garmin S60, new update. Where is golf app?

 Norboo ·  
NorbooNorboo Members  2344WRX Points: 158Handicap: 12Posts: 2,344 Platinum Tees
Joined:  edited Aug 4, 2019 in GPS/Range Finders/Mobile Apps #1

I’ve updated to the newest software but can’t find the golf app. What am I doing wrong?

Posted:
Driver: Ping G400 Max 10.5 Stock Alta (need shaft fitting)
Fairway Wood: Ryoma F5
Hybrid: TaylorMade M6 4H & 6H
Irons: OnOff Kuro 2015 6 - PW
Wedge: Cleveland RTX4 50, 54 and 58
Putter: S.C. GoLo 3
Ball: TaylorMade TP5X
Club hoe, builder, fitter and tester as hobbyist since 1993
1

Comments

  • Stuart_GStuart_G New HampshireMembers  25080WRX Points: 1,644Posts: 25,080 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #2

    App missing from the watch or phone?

    If the watch, is it also missing when you go to "settings" then "Apps & Activities"?
    Does it show up in Garmin Express software when you have the watch connected to the computer (Connect IQ apps)?

    Posted:
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • NorbooNorboo Members  2344WRX Points: 158Handicap: 12Posts: 2,344 Platinum Tees
    Joined:  #3

    On the watch. I’ve search every possible settings, add app and activities >

    On -, @Stuart_G said:

    App missing from the watch or phone?

    If the watch, is it also missing when you go to "settings" then "Apps & Activities"?
    Does it show up in Garmin Express software when you have the watch connected to the computer (Connect IQ apps)?

    Posted:
    Driver: Ping G400 Max 10.5 Stock Alta (need shaft fitting)
    Fairway Wood: Ryoma F5
    Hybrid: TaylorMade M6 4H & 6H
    Irons: OnOff Kuro 2015 6 - PW
    Wedge: Cleveland RTX4 50, 54 and 58
    Putter: S.C. GoLo 3
    Ball: TaylorMade TP5X
    Club hoe, builder, fitter and tester as hobbyist since 1993
  • Stuart_GStuart_G New HampshireMembers  25080WRX Points: 1,644Posts: 25,080 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Aug 5, 2019 #4

    If you can't access or see it or add it through the Garmin Express software then you'll need to contact Garmin support. Not being able to add it is not unexpected since it's supposed to be a fixed app - but you can disable/enable the golf app via both the watch and the Garmin Express software. So I was hoping that maybe it might have been disabled.

    Can't say for sure but if missing the way you say, then 10-1 they'll have you do to a factory reset (and then have to go through the various updates again).

    Posted:
  • NorbooNorboo Members  2344WRX Points: 158Handicap: 12Posts: 2,344 Platinum Tees
    Joined:  #5

    On -, @Stuart_G said:

    If you can't access or see it or add it through the Garmin Express software then you'll need to contact Garmin support. Not being able to add it is not unexpected since it's supposed to be a fixed app - but you can disable/enable the golf app via both the watch and the Garmin Express software. So I was hoping that maybe it might have been disabled.

    Can't say for sure but if missing the way you say, then 10-1 they'll have you do to a factory reset (and then have to go through the various updates again).

    Thanks, I'll give Garmin a call. Hope I don't have to do factory reset.
    I don't know how much I relied on the watch tiIl I was on the course past Sun without golf app. Shooting laser and carrying around laser is too cumbersome.

    Posted:
    Driver: Ping G400 Max 10.5 Stock Alta (need shaft fitting)
    Fairway Wood: Ryoma F5
    Hybrid: TaylorMade M6 4H & 6H
    Irons: OnOff Kuro 2015 6 - PW
    Wedge: Cleveland RTX4 50, 54 and 58
    Putter: S.C. GoLo 3
    Ball: TaylorMade TP5X
    Club hoe, builder, fitter and tester as hobbyist since 1993
  • Stuart_GStuart_G New HampshireMembers  25080WRX Points: 1,644Posts: 25,080 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #6

    On -, @Norboo said:

    Thanks, I'll give Garmin a call. Hope I don't have to do factory reset.

    I've done one before and it's a little bit of a pain but not really all that bad. Not nearly as bad as having to do a factory reset on your smart phone.

    Posted:
  • NorbooNorboo Members  2344WRX Points: 158Handicap: 12Posts: 2,344 Platinum Tees
    Joined:  #7

    Garmin had me do a factory reset. I lost all my settings, but golf app is back. Garmin should have some place to save all your settings in the future!

    Posted:
    Driver: Ping G400 Max 10.5 Stock Alta (need shaft fitting)
    Fairway Wood: Ryoma F5
    Hybrid: TaylorMade M6 4H & 6H
    Irons: OnOff Kuro 2015 6 - PW
    Wedge: Cleveland RTX4 50, 54 and 58
    Putter: S.C. GoLo 3
    Ball: TaylorMade TP5X
    Club hoe, builder, fitter and tester as hobbyist since 1993
  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • FredWombleFredWomble Members  551WRX Points: 115Posts: 551 Golden Tee
    Joined:  #8

    I couldn't help but see this post as I recently got an Approach S60 after a few years of using a Motoactv model GPS watch that was made in I think only 2 years (the early 2010s). After so many years, I don't think Motorola even supports it any longer. For the money and the Garmin brand name, I figured this would be a huge step up (first Garmin device I've ever owned). What a disappointment...the tracking and stats is garbage. I tracked all my shots and kept my score today, including stats, i.e., fairways hit, penalties, putts. Garmin Connect app shows 3 holes. What a lemon, to say I'm disappointed is an understatement.

    Posted:
    Cobra F9 9, Fujikura Atmos 6s 10.0
    Cobra F8 3 with Aldila NV Blue 70 S 15.5
    Cobra King Utility 20.5 Elements Chrome S 20.5
    Mizuno MP 20 HMB 5-6, MMC 7-8, MP 9-P KBS C-taper Lite R
    Scratch 1018 53 / Chikara 1 dot (51 degree)
    Scratch 1018 KBS 56
    Nike Engage Toe Sweep 60
    Yes! Mollie with Sense R grip

  • Stuart_GStuart_G New HampshireMembers  25080WRX Points: 1,644Posts: 25,080 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Aug 26, 2019 #9

    On -, @FredWomble said:

    I couldn't help but see this post as I recently got an Approach S60 after a few years of using a Motoactv model GPS watch that was made in I think only 2 years (the early 2010s). After so many years, I don't think Motorola even supports it any longer. For the money and the Garmin brand name, I figured this would be a huge step up (first Garmin device I've ever owned). What a disappointment...the tracking and stats is garbage. I tracked all my shots and kept my score today, including stats, i.e., fairways hit, penalties, putts. Garmin Connect app shows 3 holes. What a lemon, to say I'm disappointed is an understatement.

    To be honest, the stats aren't really all that useful even when the swing detection is working as it's supposed to. It's only supposed to pick up full swings - which means the approach shot stats are really useless unless you go in and manually update the locations after the round.

    But the s60 is worse than some of the other garmin watches when it comes to shot detection. This may or may not help but here are a few things I've learned about getting the shot detection to work better on the s60.
    1) make sure the firmware is up-to-date.
    2) The unit doesn't like it when you have a very active pre-shot routine. It wants (expects) a second or two of no motion before you start the back swing. I tried that but it just screws up my swing more than normal. I personally need the activity to keep the motion smooth.
    3) any cupping of the wrist in the back swing can result in buttons being pressed accidentally - usually by the glove. This can interrupt the shot detection process. It's best to set the unit to lock the screen/buttons during the activity (which can be a PITA itself). Even then that's not perfect since if the buttons are pressed long enough, that is what unlocks the screen. What the watch really needs are some button guards - I might try to make some with one of these days.

    But in my opinion, Garmin really does need to dump the auto detection and replace it or just add a manual shot entry mode.

    Posted:
  • FredWombleFredWomble Members  551WRX Points: 115Posts: 551 Golden Tee
    Joined:  #10

    Thank you, Stuart. Points 2 and 3 I'm good. Watch says that the software is up to date but I don't know if there's any other updates I can check or do. I should add to my complaint last night that initially the Connect scorecard was about 90% accurate. I went in to edit some shots that showed as unknown club and in a couple of instances it hadn't recorded some approach shots that came up short of the screen where I then chipped. The yardage tracked as I was playing, though. On one hole, a par 5, I don't understand how it didn't show GIR. I was on in 3 and two putted, and recorded the score as such (fairway / green / 2 putts / score 5). Didn't record as GIR. The 18th hole display needed a couple of corrections (keep in mind that the Connect site gives you the option to Edit/Add Shot on every hole). I tried to make the corrections and it just doesn't work. I'd add shot, click Save and then the refresh wheel would spin and spin, more than an hour. That happened twice. Very frustrating that the Connect site is so wonky. I bought the freakin' watch in part because of what appeared to be a robust stats measurement capability.

    I've played with the Motactv for 4-5 years. Have been holding my breath that the online functionality will eventually go away since the product has been manufactured since 2012 or so. I thought I'd done adequate research before investing in Approach S60. It's very disappointing that for all the bells and whistles, Garmin can't get the **** bare basics right.

    Posted:
    Cobra F9 9, Fujikura Atmos 6s 10.0
    Cobra F8 3 with Aldila NV Blue 70 S 15.5
    Cobra King Utility 20.5 Elements Chrome S 20.5
    Mizuno MP 20 HMB 5-6, MMC 7-8, MP 9-P KBS C-taper Lite R
    Scratch 1018 53 / Chikara 1 dot (51 degree)
    Scratch 1018 KBS 56
    Nike Engage Toe Sweep 60
    Yes! Mollie with Sense R grip

  • Stuart_GStuart_G New HampshireMembers  25080WRX Points: 1,644Posts: 25,080 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Aug 26, 2019 #11

    I haven't been on the web site in long time while (not since last year). It was fine last time I used it but it there were other times in the past where I found it "wonky" as well. I agree Garmin came up way short on this one - it's like they really didn't think there way through it from the start. And even times when I wondered if anyone actually involved with the development actually played golf at all or if they'd ever heard of beta testing. Although, for whatever reason, I found the shot detection much better on my older x40 than on the s60. I blamed it on the buttons but there could be more to it than that. But in my case, that functionality wasn't the reason I got the watch in the first place so it wasn't really all that much of a let down to me. For me, similar detection issues with the tempo trainer was more disappointing.

    FWIW, it never hurts to contact Garmin CS. They can't rewrite the software/firmware - but they are usually very good about helping get the most out the functionality that does exist.

    Posted:
  • FredWombleFredWomble Members  551WRX Points: 115Posts: 551 Golden Tee
    Joined:  #12

    Hi again. New info that I wanted input after speaking with Garmin CS via online chat (good recommendation, Stuart). Gary noted that my Approach S60 is an APAC model, and believes that explains why Connect isn't happy. I'm not a software or IT expert so I have no idea. Sounds feasible. Is it possible that Garmin Connect is acting up because I live in the US and have an APAC model Approach S60? I have contacted the ebay retailer who I purchased the watch from, as the auction didn't specify that it's an APAC not Americas model. Even though I'm not a real IT pro, with that info I don't think I would have purchased this watch but would have gotten the right model for where I live.

    Thanks in advance!

    Posted:
    Cobra F9 9, Fujikura Atmos 6s 10.0
    Cobra F8 3 with Aldila NV Blue 70 S 15.5
    Cobra King Utility 20.5 Elements Chrome S 20.5
    Mizuno MP 20 HMB 5-6, MMC 7-8, MP 9-P KBS C-taper Lite R
    Scratch 1018 53 / Chikara 1 dot (51 degree)
    Scratch 1018 KBS 56
    Nike Engage Toe Sweep 60
    Yes! Mollie with Sense R grip

  • GolfWRXGolfWRX Warning Points: 0  11 Members Posts: 11 #ad
    Joined:  ...

    Advertisement
  • Stuart_GStuart_G New HampshireMembers  25080WRX Points: 1,644Posts: 25,080 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Aug 26, 2019 #13

    On -, @FredWomble said:

    Hi again. New info that I wanted input after speaking with Garmin CS via online chat (good recommendation, Stuart). Gary noted that my Approach S60 is an APAC model, and believes that explains why Connect isn't happy. I'm not a software or IT expert so I have no idea. Sounds feasible. Is it possible that Garmin Connect is acting up because I live in the US and have an APAC model Approach S60? I have contacted the ebay retailer who I purchased the watch from, as the auction didn't specify that it's an APAC not Americas model. Even though I'm not a real IT pro, with that info I don't think I would have purchased this watch but would have gotten the right model for where I live.

    Thanks in advance!

    Didn't the CS rep say? Or are you just like me and think of 10 more questions to ask right AFTER you hang up :-)

    I can't really say not knowing the full context of the differences in the models - but first guess is that I wouldn't think so - more likely it's just a communication protocol differences. Whether a more general USB comms protocol or something specific to the garmin software data transfer I can't say. Might make satellite acquisition and the initial position determination slower but once it figures out where it really is in the word, not expect the position based functionality to be effected.

    Posted:
  • PepperturboPepperturbo Midwest and SouthwestMembers  16691WRX Points: 954Handicap: Low-Mid SDPosts: 16,691 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  edited Aug 26, 2019 #14

    On -, @Norboo said:

    I’ve updated to the newest software but can’t find the golf app. What am I doing wrong?

    The Garmin Golf app isn't on the watch. My wife has S60 and I have Garmin Fenix 5X. The only Golf app on the watch is the 40k courses app that provides yardage, etc and hole score, putts, etc. Garmin's mobile companion golf app, which neither of us uses except to review after a round, is loaded on iPhone, not sure about other mobile operating systems. We typically keep our iPhone's nearby and the golf app open. That way our watches transfer hole data to the iPhone golf app while playing and once the round is complete we're able to look at the full round hole by hole. That's also where the swing and distance data is kept too. Make sure to have Garmin Express on the computer or mobile to assure Garmin can automatically update your watch operating system when it's not in use. Also, APAC S60 operating system is on a different update schedule.

    Posted:
    Titleist TS2 9.5, Ventus 5 "S"
    Titleist TS2 16.5*, Ventus 7 "S"
    Titleist 718 T-MB 17* 2i, Steelfiber "S"
    Titleist 620 CB/MB 3i-PW, Steelfiber "S"
    SM6 F-52/8, Steelfiber "S"
    SM6 M-58/8, DG-S200
    SC California Monterey
    ProV1



  • FredWombleFredWomble Members  551WRX Points: 115Posts: 551 Golden Tee
    Joined:  #15

    Thanks to Stuart and Pepper for your posts... makes sense that different models would be on different update schedules. To Stuart's on point statement, yeah, you always think about what you should have asked or discussed right after speaking with customer service. :) The CS rep didn't say definitively that because I have an APAC model that was the reason why Garmin Connect was wonky. It was more a speculative, i.e., he thought that could be it. I've spoken with a friend of mine who is a technical specialist for a major PC vendor; not apples to apples but in describing my situation he came to a conclusion similar to your final comment, "not expect the position based functionality to be effected." I hope that's the case. Thank you again!

    Posted:
    Cobra F9 9, Fujikura Atmos 6s 10.0
    Cobra F8 3 with Aldila NV Blue 70 S 15.5
    Cobra King Utility 20.5 Elements Chrome S 20.5
    Mizuno MP 20 HMB 5-6, MMC 7-8, MP 9-P KBS C-taper Lite R
    Scratch 1018 53 / Chikara 1 dot (51 degree)
    Scratch 1018 KBS 56
    Nike Engage Toe Sweep 60
    Yes! Mollie with Sense R grip

  • PepperturboPepperturbo Midwest and SouthwestMembers  16691WRX Points: 954Handicap: Low-Mid SDPosts: 16,691 Titanium Tees
    Joined:  #16

    On -, @FredWomble said:

    Thanks to Stuart and Pepper for your posts... makes sense that different models would be on different update schedules. To Stuart's on point statement, yeah, you always think about what you should have asked or discussed right after speaking with customer service. :) The CS rep didn't say definitively that because I have an APAC model that was the reason why Garmin Connect was wonky. It was more a speculative, i.e., he thought that could be it. I've spoken with a friend of mine who is a technical specialist for a major PC vendor; not apples to apples but in describing my situation he came to a conclusion similar to your final comment, "not expect the position based functionality to be effected." I hope that's the case. Thank you again!

    Customer Service staff for most companies are taught never be explicit about a technical flaw or its cause. Also, the Garmin Connect app for APAC is on a different development schedule too. However, a products geographical market has no bearing on GPS satellite functionality. APAC GPS uses the same Satellites as GPS products made for North American. Good luck.

    Side note one of the advantages of Garmin Fenix 5x is so easy reset is a push of a button, and it doesn't really affect apps or widgets just reverts operating system settings to the original. Even though I have some very expensive watches I've become so comfortable with Garmin Fenix 5x I now wear it 24/7. Battery life is surprisingly long too, especially when not using Golf or cycling GPS.

    Posted:
    Titleist TS2 9.5, Ventus 5 "S"
    Titleist TS2 16.5*, Ventus 7 "S"
    Titleist 718 T-MB 17* 2i, Steelfiber "S"
    Titleist 620 CB/MB 3i-PW, Steelfiber "S"
    SM6 F-52/8, Steelfiber "S"
    SM6 M-58/8, DG-S200
    SC California Monterey
    ProV1



Leave a Comment

Rich Text Editor. To edit a paragraph's style, hit tab to get to the paragraph menu. From there you will be able to pick one style. Nothing defaults to paragraph. An inline formatting menu will show up when you select text. Hit tab to get into that menu. Some elements, such as rich link embeds, images, loading indicators, and error messages may get inserted into the editor. You may navigate to these using the arrow keys inside of the editor and delete them with the delete or backspace key.