2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

A Question for Wilson Experts

I've been vaguely pondering this set of irons on the Japanese Yahoo! Auction site:

https://page.auction...tion/f137736566 Scroll down for lots of pictures

I have a few sets of MacGregor irons and a couple of Eighties' Japanese iron sets, but no Wilson (or Hogan for that matter, but that's another story). When I started playing golf in the mid-Eighties as a junior, I remember picking up a Wilson Dynapower 6i for a couple of quid to practice with, and I with that in mind, I am gently considering a set.

The set in the above link looks really interesting: Staff Tour Blades in BeCu! But I can find nothing about such a set being made. I know they made BeCu wedges, but I haven't seen anything about a full set. Any possible hits on an internet search leads back to that set. Were they a one-off for a pro (AT serial = Asian Tour?), or a set of Chinese fakes. The latter seems unlikely if this was indeed a set made in the Eighties to compete with the Ping Eye2 BeCus. I really don't know.

For what it's worth, I probably won't bid on this set, as part of the reason I want to try a set of old Wilsons is to compare the forged feeling to my Macs. Buying a set of BeCus would kind of defeat that object, wouldn't it?

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

For what it's worth, I probably won't bid on this set, as part of the reason I want to try a set of old Wilsons is to compare the forged feeling to my Macs. Buying a set of BeCus would kind of defeat that object, wouldn't it?

Agreed. But what you should really be doing is buying those, and then a set of Fg17s, and then you can make 2 comparisons!

My experience of Hogan copper wedges is that they actually feel harder than their steel equivalents - though I'm currently playing a copper 60* which I really like.