2024 John Deere Classic WITB Photos ×

SHANKS! A long battle with them. HELP!

Long post coming up…

I’ve been playing golf properly for around 3 years now. After some months of starting, I suddenly got the shanks but as I was very much a beginner I didn’t worry to much/even know what was happening and eventually shook them.

I then started taking golf much more seriously and improved a great deal, I had a few lessons and shot my best (80) last October. But a few Months later, I then somehow developed the shanks again. This time I am very aware of what they are and cannot shake them.

I heel strike every drive (some so bad they go left and low) and irons are impossible to hit. The only thing I feel comfortable over are wedges and my putter. Long irons especially have been non existent.

Looking at my swing slowed down I do seem to leave the clubface open on the downswing making me very flippy before impact however I can’t seem to fix this and it’s also hard to focus on clubface when you’re shanking every ball lol

I have tried the two ball drill/object outside the ball and as much as this works I can feel that I’m not swinging properly and can only achieve about 80% distance max

Looking for any advice on my swing and any remedies from people that have battled the shanks 

Here’s a slow mo shank from todays range session -

Edited by Shawshanks

Long post coming up…

I’ve been playing golf properly for around 3 years now. Some months in, I suddenly got the shanks but as I was very much a beginner I didn’t worry to much/even know what was happening and eventually shook them.

I then started taking golf much more seriously and improved a great deal, i went a long time without the shanks only got them second half of a bucket down the range.