2024 Rocket Mortgage Classic WITB Photos ×

Questions on diy club adjustments, fittings, etc

MannJ

Let me start by saying I can’t really afford the level of fitting I would trust. I know that is the best route but it’s not currently an option. 

A little background:

I started playing again about 2 years ago, and bought some used irons online. I decided to cut these irons down myself by 3/8” (5’7” and wrist to floor about 31.5”) I ended doing this for the most part for every club I have purchased since then. I feel like this has worked out for me, because I think I am making good improvements considering the time I am able to invest.

I decided recently to purchase my first set of new irons because I found a pretty good deal and because I am really really enjoying the game and my progress. 

So the questions:

If the cutting off the 3/8” worked well enough, should I just hack away on the new irons or should I try to play the longer shafts?

Lie angle:

If I take the 3/8” off, will it be enough to somewhat satisfy what should probably be a 3 degree flattening of lie angle on the clubs?

Also on lie angle:

If most all players hands are slightly higher at impact (and I know ideally it would be very slight but it is what it is) shouldn’t lie angle be fitted to position at impact rather than angle at address? And if so wouldn’t that justify having the toe slightly higher than the heel at address?

Thank you for your time. 

4 hours ago, MannJ said:

Let me start by saying I can’t really afford the level of fitting I would trust. I know that is the best route but it’s not currently an option. 

A little background: